Chocolate Chip Cookies – Soft

I showed up to girls night two weeks in a row with homemade cookies. That, my friends, is how I earn my keep.

My next step on my chocolate chip journey was soft chocolate chip cookies. What I wanted was a cookie that held it’s fluffy shape when you take it out of the oven. A cookie that melted in your mouth. A cookie that stayed that fresh-from-the-oven soft even when it was cooled.

What I got was these …

IMG_1659

Now, I’m going to be honest here. As good as I made soft cookies soft just then, they’re just not my thing. I prefer my cookie to have some crunch. But for their class of cookies, these were pretty darn great!

What I was really impressed with was how well they held their shape! They stayed that puffy until their dying day! I remember my grandma’s cookies were always nice and tall like that, so these definitely had some nostalgia tied to them.

The science behind these cookies …

  • Corn Starch keeps these cookies nice and tall
  • More brown sugar than white sugar  — white sugar gives the crisp, and I didn’t want that here

The only warning I’ll yield for these cookies is just be sure they’re actually cooked through. The trick with soft cookies is to get them out of the oven before they start to brown. You want to take them out of the oven just before they’re done, so they can finish cooking on the pan. I struggle with this. I can’t see that fine line! I never know what’s soft and what’s just … raw.

IMG_1655

So be sure to time them, use your best judgement and do your best to use the correct temperature (my oven is horrible — my temperature gauge isn’t even digital!).

Not done yet:

IMG_1654

Cooked (maybe too much, but I was okay with it):

IMG_1656

Let’s get baking!


Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 egg, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 and 1/4 cup chocolate chips

Beat the butter for 1 minute on medium speed until completely smooth and creamy.

IMG_1643

Add the brown sugar and granulated sugar and mix on medium speed until fluffy and light in color.

IMG_1644

Mix in egg and vanilla. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl as needed. In a separate bowl, combine flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt.

IMG_1647

On low speed, slowly mix into the wet ingredients until combined. The cookie dough will be quite thick. Add the chocolate chips and mix for about 5 seconds until evenly disbursed.

IMG_1649

Cover dough tightly with aluminum foil or plastic wrap and chill for at least 1 hour and up to 2 days. Chilling is mandatory for this cookie dough. Remove cookie dough from the refrigerator and allow to sit at room temperature for 10 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat. Set aside.

Once chilled, the dough will be slightly crumbly, but will come together if you work the dough with your hands as you roll into individual balls. Roll balls of dough, about 1 Tablespoon of dough each, into balls.

IMG_1653

Bake for 8-9 minutes, until barely golden brown around the edges. They will look extremely soft when you remove them from the oven. Allow to cool for 5 minutes on the cookie sheet. Transfer to cooling rack to cool completely.

IMG_1656 IMG_1657 IMG_1658

Leave a Reply

