Tiramisu Cookies

Oh, the office pot luck. No matter what, you’re going to be that coworker. You’ll either outdo yourself and make everyone else look bad – no one wants to be that coworker. Or you pick up a bag of chips from the Walgreens across the street 5 minutes before the lunch, which everyone will most certainly eat because no one has the will power to turn down some kettle cooked BBQ action, but it doesn’t matter because you are getting labeled as that coworker anyway. And goodness knows you can’t not participate, because there is simply no excuse that will keep your coworkers from pulling you into the nearby conference room even if you have nothing to contribute, and you most certainly don’t want to be that coworker.

So you’ve got to pick your poison. For my first pot luck at my current job, I made veggie pizza (safe) for myself to bring, and lemon bars (safe) for my best friend who hates pot lucks and baking to “bring”. To the next one, I brought creamed corn cornbread. That was actually a really great decision, I’ll have to dig up the recipe for that one to share with you one day. We had another pot luck the other day, and this time I thought I’d stick to something I do well.

I can do desserts. You put some flour, sugar and eggs in front of me, I can make the magic happen. I just love the precision of it. You need exactly 3/4 teaspoon of baking powder; no more, no less. It’s not like cooking, where you can throw in a little of this and a little of that. Baking is a science. I love it.

I picked these Tiramisu cookies. They turned out pretty well!

IMG_1624

The cookie part was a little crunchier than I would have liked. Next time, I think I would use margarine instead of butter, and maybe bake them a little less. I just wanted it to get a little soggy, you know, like, tiramisu!

All things considered, I’d consider it these little buggers a win. And they were definitely a hit with my coworkers!

Tiramisu Cookies

Cookies:
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 sticks butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar + extra for rolling
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon rum extract (I actually couldn’t find any, so I just used more vanilla)

Filling:
8 ounces mascarpone cheese
3 tablespoons butter, softened
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon instant coffee (I used Starbucks Via)
2 cups powdered sugar
Unsweetened cocoa for dusting

Preheat oven for 375˚F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

For the cookies:
Cream the butter, sugar, vanilla and rum extract together until light and fluffy; about 3-5 minutes. Add the egg and beat until combined.

IMG_1601

Add the baking powder and salt, then slowly add the flour to the mixture until well combined.

IMG_1603

Scoop small 1 – 1 1/2 tsp. portions of dough and roll into balls. Place a little extra sugar in a small bowl and roll each ball in sugar before placing on a baking sheet.

IMG_1605

Use the bottom of a glass to press the dough balls flat.

IMG_1609

Bake for 9-10 minutes.

IMG_1610

For the filling:
In a clean bowl, beat the mascarpone and butter to combine.

Pour the vanilla extract into a small bowl. Add the instant coffee powder and mix to dissolve. Beat into the cheese mixture. Slowly add the powdered sugar until light and fluffy.

IMG_1615

Place the filling in a large zip bag and cut a tiny hole off the corner. Turn half of the cooled cookies over and pipe 1 teaspoon of filling onto the bottom cookies.

IMG_1617 IMG_1618

Top each cookie sandwich and sprinkle with cocoa powder.

IMG_1622 IMG_1623 IMG_1625

Enjoy!

 

