Chocolate Chip Cookies – Thin & Cripsy

I had so much fun planning my wedding. I really enjoyed the pressure of completing tasks and checking them off my list. I loved having craft projects to complete. There was always something to do, something to work on. I thrive in that sort of an environment and have always loved being busy.

Now that my wedding is over, I’m really missing that sense of purpose, that goal to work toward. I miss coming home from work to a long to-do list. It’s nice to have so much free time now, I guess, but that’s really not my style.

So I knew I needed to get myself some projects. I started crocheting more, which I really enjoy. I crocheted a bag, which was cool, and continued working on a blanket (that blanket won’t be done anytime soon, it’s been almost a year since I’ve started and it’s only about a foot long!). And I cleaned my apartment, and put all my new things away, so that was quite a task. But I also needed a kitchen goal. I got a brand new Kitchen-Aid mixer (SQUEAL!), so I need to break her in.

My ultimate goal is to master Macaroons. Honestly, I’m putting it off because I’m scared I’ll fail and I have very high hopes. But I’ll start those soon. Maybe for Valentine’s Day. But in the meantime, I’ve decided to launch a new project: The Chocolate Chip Cookie Project.

Every few weeks, I’m going to make a different chocolate chip cookie. I’m going to play around with butter-to-margarine ratios, chocolate chips versus chunks, granulated sugar compared to brown sugar. I’m going to make thin and crispy cookies, soft and chewy cookies, cookies with oatmeal. I’m going to try them all! I’m really excited about this journey!

My first recipe is for thin and crispy chocolate chip cookies. This is my personal favorite kind of cookie. These would have been amazing as ice cream sandwiches or in an icebox cake like this one. I just had mine warm, with milk.

IMG_1529

As a part of my quest, I needed to learn a bit about the science of baking, and what ingredients make the cookies react what way. Here’s what I learned about making thin and crispy cookies:

  • Melted butter helps the cookies flatten out, which allows for crispier edges
  • More granulated sugar than brown sugar makes for a chewier, crunchier cookie
  • Corn syrup aids in the caramelization and browning for crispy bottoms
  • Milk helps the cookies spread out into flatter cookies

The result was fantastic. Be sure to check back on my Chocolate Chip Cookie Project page located under the Recipes tab. I’ll keep the page updated with all the recipes I try. Please let me know if you have any recipe ideas I should try!

*   *   *

Thin & Crispy Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 stick butter, melted and cooled
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
2 tablespoons light corn syrup
1 large egg
1 tablespoon milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line large baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt.

IMG_1501

In a large bowl, beat the butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and corn syrup until very well combined.

IMG_1502

Add the egg, milk and vanilla and beat until very well combined.

IMG_1506

Gradually add the flour mixture and stir until just combined, being careful not to over-mix. Gently stir in the chocolate chips. The dough will be very loose, sticky, and more like batter in consistency.

IMG_1507

Drop dough by 1 1/2 tablespoon rounds onto the prepared baking sheets, spacing at least 2 inches apart.

IMG_1509

Bake for about 12 minutes, or until golden brown and flat, rotating the sheets halfway through baking. Bake one sheet at a time for even cooking.

IMG_1513

Let the cookies cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes before using a thin spatula to remove to wire racks to cool completely.

IMG_1517

Enjoy!

IMG_1523  IMG_1530 IMG_1536

Leave a Reply

