Butternut Squash, Brussels Sprout and Apple Stuffing

So, maybe I made this stuffing two months ago on Thanksgiving, but who says you can only have stuffing on Thanksgiving?! Not me! So I’m sharing this with you now, three months too late (or nine months too early) anyway, because it was that good! And stuffing is great! So, there’s no reason to not make it more often.

This stuffing is different. It’s stuffing because it has cubes of dried bread, but it’s also very much a vegetable side, too. It was a huge hit with our family, so I hope you enjoy it too! I know it requires a lot of ingredients, which sometimes dissuades me from a recipe, but I really hope you give it a shot anyway!

It does require a decent variety of herbs, which is part of why it’s so tasty. I usually settle for dried herbs, but when I made this, I actually used fresh. If you can use fresh, I’d definitely recommend it. Also, I was reading a really great blog post recently about the health benefits of spices! I had no idea! So you’ll get plenty of those perks too.

Butternut Squash, Brussels Sprout and Apple Stuffing

1 pound butternut squash, cubed (TIP: Microwave it for a little bit to soften it up first, which makes cubing it much easier.)
1 pound brussels sprouts, halved (frozen is fine)
1 gala apple, diced
3 tablespoons olive oil, divided into 2 tbsp and 1 tbsp
1 cup onion, diced
1 cup celery, diced
10 slices bread of choice (I used French) –  Prior to preparing the recipe, leave bread out for a day to become slightly dry, then cut into cubes.
1 1/2 cup vegetable broth
2 teaspoons fresh rosemary, chopped
1 teaspoon fresh thyme
1 teaspoon chopped fresh sage
1/3 cup dried cranberries
1/3 cup pecans
Sea salt and pepper to taste

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Toss the squash, brussels sprouts and apples in 2 tablespoons oil and season well with salt and pepper. Roast till vegetables are very tender and remove from oven. Reduce oven heat to 350.

IMG_0897

Heat the other tablespoon of oil in a large pot. Saute the onion and celery till translucent (about 5-8 min).

IMG_0896

Add the bread cubes and allow them to get golden brown with the veggies in the oil. Add a dash of salt and pepper.

IMG_0898

Add the roasted vegetables, vegetable broth, cranberries, pecans, and seasonings. Stir the mix till the broth has almost entirely absorbed in the toasted bread.

IMG_0899

Transfer to a baking sheet and bake at 350 for about 20 minutes. Serve hot. And delicious

IMG_0901

You can find mine centered on my Thanksgiving Day plate!

IMG_0903

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

