Chickenless Noodle Soup

Oh hello! I’m back! I planned a wedding, got married and went to Maui, and that was awesome! I held off on posting a lot of my wedding crafts to keep it as a surprise for my guests, but now I’m super excited to share every DIY element of my wedding in posts to come!

This is not a wedding post though. 🙂 While I’m getting back into the swing of real life, I thought I’d start with an easy recipe to kick off my return to blogging. And then I’ll be throwing wedding posts atchya as soon as possible.

I’m totally a wife now! And call me old fashioned, but that means I make dinner! My poor husband ate nothing but pizza, mac & cheese and Chipotle for at least a month leading up to the wedding! So now that I’ve got some free time and lots of new kitchen toys, it’s time to get to work!

It’s been COLD in Chicago. I went outside yesterday just to see what -38˚F felt like, because I felt like cold that extreme is not a very common thing (hopefully!) and I wanted to experience it! I would like to report that it’s not that interesting and it’s really just your regular cold. The difference between 0 and -38 I did not find to be THAT substantial. However, I really just went around the corner for coffee, so that’s worth noting.

Anyway! So it’s cold, I wanted to make dinner, so I obviously made soup. My friend recently posted a photo of some chicken noodle soup that she made (she’s very domestic and adorable and always makes her boyfriend dinner), and after seeing hers, I just had to make some myself. I wanted made-from-scratch, twisty noodles, fresh-cut carrots kind of chicken noodle soup. Except minus the chicken (yeaaah, still on the vegetarian kick!).

IMG_1444

So I kind of looked up some recipes, and kind of just threw some stuff in a pot and this is what I ended up with! Unfortunately, I overcooked my noodles, didn’t have as much veggie broth as I’d expected and had it ready a good hour before my husband (husband!!) came home, so it was kind of just noodles and veggies, but dang was it tasty! I know it’s not that pretty, and in the future my noodles would be more al dente and I’d have more broth, but other than that, I wouldn’t change a thing!

Let me know if you have any other suggestions for making amazing chicken(less) noodle soup!

Chickenless Noodle Soup

1 tablespoon oil
5 carrots, sliced
3 ribs celery, sliced
1 onion, chopped
5 cups vegetable stock (or more if you like it juicy)
2 bay leaves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon lemon pepper
1/2 teaspoon splash of lemon juice
1 bunch parsley, chopped
1/2 pound uncooked egg noodles

Heat oil over medium heat. Saute carrots, celery and onion until tender. Add vegetable stock and all the remaining ingredients except for the noodles to the pot. Boil for about 10 minutes.

IMG_1436

In a separate pot, cook noodles in salted water until al dente. Drain. Add the cooked noodles to the pot with the stock, veggies and seasonings. Simmer for another 10 minutes or so. Enjoy with some crusty bread on a cozy coach.

IMG_1439

IMG_1437

Enjoy!

IMG_1445

Leave a Reply

