Roasted Vegetables and Lemon Garlic Pasta

One of my favorite ways to have vegetables is roasted cherry tomatoes. The way they pop when you eat them is favorite part! I remember vividly the first time I had them. I was in Junior High and my mom had this healthy cooking recipe pamphlet and found this roasted vegetable dish that we had over pasta. I remember the dish being just okay, but the tomatoes being AMAZING. So I wanted to find a way to make a dish that showcased my favorite veggie, but in a dish that was better than okay. My solution? Lemon and garlic.
IMG_6560
I took your standard roasted vegetable recipe (mixed veggies, olive oil, salt, pepper), and I subbed the salt for lemon pepper. Then, instead of plain linguini, I subbed lemon garlic spaghetti. Just a couple simple changes and this standard dish went from zero to hero! #callmehercules #firstemjoyablehashtag

So what’s your favorite veggie dish!?

*   *   *

Roasted Vegetables and Lemon Garlic Pasta

Veggies
1 package cherry tomatoes
1 zucchini
1 yellow squash
1 package mushrooms
Olive oil
1 teaspoon lemon pepper
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Pasta
3 tablespoons minced garlic
1/2 cup olive oil
6 tablespoons lemon juice
1 cube vegetable bouillon (1 cube that makes 2 cups bouillon, but just the cube!)
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 lb. thick spaghetti (or pasta of choice)
1/2 cup shredded parmesan

Chop your vegetables and mix them in a large bowl. Drizzle with olive oil until just coated.  (I don’t have an exact amount of olive oil, because it really varies by how many veggies you have and how small or large they’re chopped.)
IMG_6559
Place them in a baking pan (I used a 13×9″ baking dish).
IMG_6558
Bake at 350 F for about 30 minutes or until zucchini are fork-tender.
IMG_6566
While your veggies are roasting, start your pasta. In large skillet, cook garlic in olive oil until golden.
IMG_6561
Add lemon juice, bouillon and pepper.
IMG_6563
Cook and stir until bouillon dissolves.
IMG_6562
In large bowl, toss pasta, garlic mixture and cheese.
IMG_6567
Top your pasta with vegetables and enjoy!
IMG_6571

Leave a Reply

