Goat Cheese & Things

I’ve tried oven “frying” things in the past. I’ve tried the whole turn-cauliflower-into-buffalo-wings thing and the cover-it-in-corn-flakes-and-it-tastest-just-like-it-was-fried trick. Either those are lies or I just suck at fake fried things — both of which are reasonable explanations. I have made a few baked wonton recipes, including these pumpkin ravioli, but they just don’t quite get as crispy as I’d liked them to be. Which was fine for the ravioli, but I knew I had to do better.
Pumpkin Ravioli
So I did!

After some inspiration by Bad Dog Tavern‘s appetizer menu, I decided that Goat Cheese Wontons were going to be the final test of oven-fried success. I realized that the trick to mastering legitimately crispy oven-fried apps is all about the shape! The problem with the ravioli was that the edges got crispier faster than the middle. The solution? Less edges!
IMG_6809
When you fold the wontons tighter, you have a more uniform thickness all around, so they can bake more evenly so you can maximize crispiness in every bite! Also, you have to use a lot of cooking spray.

These little guys were absolutely AMAZING! I meant to save some for my fiance, but I accidentally ate them all on my own! I just kind of made this recipe up based on what I had laying around, so feel free to throw in whatever you like! I made three different flavors, all of which were amazing. I think the honey was my favorite mix-in. They were just these crispy, creamy bites of greatness! I loved them! Oh yeah, and they’re incredibly fast and easy — my favorite!

Goat Cheese Wontons

Wonton wrappers
Goat cheese
Optional additional fillings: honey, sliced green onions, chopped mango

Start by spraying your pan with a healthy amount of cooking spray and pre-heating the oven to 400 degrees. Add a spoon-full of goat cheese to the center of each wonton wrapper. Top with your additional toppings.
IMG_6794IMG_6804Fold opposite corners together to form a triangle, using a little bit of water to seal the edges. Then fold the edges in to form little pentagons. Spay with another coat of cooking spray. Bake for 5 minutes, flip, then 5 more minutes. IMG_6808 IMG_6811Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

