Wine & Lace

One of my darling friends stumbled across a craft project that involved wine, lace and sparkle. It was right up our alley! So, we immediately picked up/ordered the supplies and as soon as they arrived, planned a craft afternoon for as soon as possible. (Yep! We have craft afternoons! How freaking cute are my friends?!)

We made these adorable wine glasses!
IMG_6113
All you need for this project is a few simple materials:

  • Cheap wine glasses – IKEA, $5 for six!
  • Gold doilies – We got ours from Knot & Bow on Etsy
  • Scissors/Exacto knife
  • Mod Podge – Available at any craft store
  • And it’s not a craft day without a few great friends! Plus, each of the girls showed up with a bottle of wine — did I mention how awesome they are?!

IMG_6075
This project is incredibly simple, but beautiful!

This is what you do …

  1. Trace the bottom of the wineglasses with a pencil on the back side of a doily, and cut out the circle. IMG_6076
  2. Paint the bottom of the glass with a thin layer of Mod Podge, and then press the doily circle (gold side up) onto the glass until it molds to the shape of the bottom of the glass. This might take a few minutes, but don’t worry, it will happen. IMG_6077
  3. Let dry. Drink wine.
  4. When the glue has dried completely, paint on another layer of Mod Podge. IMG_6074
  5. Let dry. Drink wine.
  6. Repete steps 4 and 5 until the glue is thick enough that you can hardly feel the doily anymore.
  7. Once your glue has dried completely, fill with your favorite wine and drink in style!

IMG_6107 IMG_6110 IMG_6111 IMG_6115IMG_6086

I hope this inspires you to host your own craft outing!

Cheers!!

2 thoughts on “Wine & Lace

  1. That’s cute! My summer projects are: paint camryn’s room (done!) & put up a picture wall (almost done!), make road trip tote bags (I told you about those already), make glitter glass votives, and make a tie-dye cover up.. it involves sewing. I think I can do it!

    • Ooh la la! Glitter glass votives!? Definitely send me pics! I’m also really excited to see the tote bags! I was the most excited to find how cheap they were on the site you sent me! I wanted totes for gift bags for my out of town guests, and I was about to give up because I couldn’t find any cheap enough! You really saved the day on that one!

Leave a Reply

