MAD STYLE Cocktail Party

I decided recently that I was going to host a Mad Men party. I’m a big fan of the AMC series, set in 1960’s New York, so the thought of getting to pretend like I’m a part of that world was obviously something I was going to jump on. The Madison Avenue energy combined with an adorable dress code made for the perfect recipe for a themed party.

My party is going to be a cocktail party complete with Old Fashioneds, hor d’oeuvres and (candy) cigarettes — because (fake) smoking is cool! It’s going to take place on my rooftop, complete with a lovely view of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan. #classy

Sadly, I’m pretty sure that I’m the only one of my friends who actually watches the show. But on the bright side,  my friends completely support the dressing up and being adorable part. It’s going to be really great, I just know it.

Today, I wanted to show you guys  my invites for my party! I was really proud of them! I cut out everything by hand, and then just used Elmer’s glue to layer everything. Looking back, I would have used double-sided table, because they got a bit wrinkled with the Elmer’s. (I also just ordered alphabet cutting dies for my new letterpress, so soon I won’t have to cut out letters by hand!) But I love them!!

IMG_5828

I only made paper invites for my three closest (and craftiest) friends. Everyone else gets invited via Facebook. So I made these digital versions for the Facebook event which I’m really proud of as well! (This versions are revised for that darn internet.)

MadMen_EMJOYABLE2

 

MadMen_EMJOYABLE

I can’t wait to share photos from the actual event. Has anyone ever had a Mad Men themed party before? I’d love any suggestions on making it awesome!

One thought on “MAD STYLE Cocktail Party

  1. Pingback: MAD STYLE Cocktail Party | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

