Chocolate Strawberry Icebox Cake

My mom was always really great at cakes, so birthdays were always very exciting. If I were still living at home, I would totally raid my mom’s photo albums and scan old photos, because they are totally deserving of praise. I had the cutest pink heart cake/cupcake theme one year, which was always my favorite.

If it wasn’t a birthday though, or even sometimes if it was, my mom made two cakes that were out of this world: Buster Bar Ice Cream Cake and Eclaire cake. I’m not exactly sure what went into the Buster Bar one, but I remember there was a lot of fudge and peanuts and oreos involved and it was wonderful. And then there was the Eclaire Cake. I remember going down to the basement fridge with a fork and sneaking extra cake, it was that good. #chubbykid. It was basically a pudding mixture layered between graham crackers and topped with chocolate ganache and then chilled overnight so the grahams get nice and soft. So good.

Anyway, I was watching Barefoot Contessa the other day, and Ina made a Mocha Chocolate Icebox Cake. I realized that Icebox Cake was actually the term for the type of cake that the my mom’s Eclaire Cake was. It’s the term for layering whipped cream mixtures with cookies and chilled until soft. Ina brought it to my attention that there were actually a LOT of potential variations to this simple and delicious cake that I loved so much as a kid! Needless to say, I was VERY excited.

So I went straight to the store, picked up a few things, and then whipped up this little concoction! Has anyone else made this style of dessert? Or have flavor combinations that you recommend?

*   *   *

Chocolate Strawberry Icebox Cake

2 cups cold milk
1 package instant chocolate pudding (I really wanted white chocolate, but my market didn’t carry it)
1 container Cool Whip, thawed and divided
1 package graham crackers
1 package strawberries, sliced
1/4 cup chocolate chips

Whisk pudding mix into milk for 2 minutes. Reserve 2 Tablespoons of the Cool Whip, and stir the rest in with the pudding.
IMG_5634
Spread a thin layer of the mixture on the bottom of an 8×8″ pan. Then add a layer of grahams. It really doesn’t matter how they look, as long as they are in an even, single layer. Then a layer of strawberries.

Repeat twice, finishing with a layer of the pudding mixture.
IMG_5635
IMG_5638 IMG_5637
Melt the chocolate chips over a double broiler or carefully in the microwave. Stir in the 2 Tablespoons of Cool Whip. (I totally didn’t expect this to work well because I didn’t think you added anything to melted chocolate, but I promise it worked!) Spoon the mixture into a pastry bag or a Ziploc bag with a snipped corner. Drizzle over the cake.
IMG_5642
Refrigerate over night. Enjoy!
IMG_5663
IMG_5667

Leave a Reply

