Good-In-A-Pinch Biscuits and Gravy

I’ve been really craving biscuits and gravy lately. I have been experiencing a bit of a B&G draught recently — when you’re vegetarian that’s not something that you can easily order at a restaurant because they always come with sausage gravy — and I needed to do something about that. Usually, when I get a craving for something, I just make it. I have never made biscuits or gravy before, but I expected them both to be much more complicated than I was interested in at this point in time.  I do plan to make biscuits from scratch one day, but today was not that day. I was hungry, and I was only cooking for myself, so I was just looking for close-enough.

I had originally planned on using a packet of instant white gravy mix, but they didn’t have any packets at the Walgreens I was passing. I did a quick search for gravy recipes, clicked the first one and was pleased to see that I had all the ingredients at home. Perfect! I’d be making the gravy from scratch. I decided to settle on a can of refrigerated biscuits, just the cheap buttermilk dinner biscuit kind, and I was ready to rock.

It turns out that gravy is actually super easy! It only took about 5 minutes and used ingredients I usually have on hand. It turned out pretty good! The refrigerator biscuits weren’t GREAT, but they weren’t bad and totally curbed my craving. Like this post is titled, these are perfect good-in-a-pinch biscuits and gravy!

*   *   *

White Gravy 
(serves 2)

1 cup milk
1 1/2 tablespoons flour
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt

Mix all ingredients in a saucepan.
IMG_5396
Over medium heat, whisk continuously until the gravy thickens. (If the gravy hasn’t reached the desired consistency after 5 minutes, add flour or milk by the teaspoon to thicken or thin the gravy.)
IMG_5397
Serve over biscuits.
IMG_5399
Enjoy!
IMG_5398

One thought on “Good-In-A-Pinch Biscuits and Gravy

  1. Pingback: Sausage Gravy and Biscuits - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

