Fruit Tarts

I finally used my mini tart pans! It was a very exciting day since I bought them three years ago and they’ve been staring at me with their little fluted edges ever since. I made an attempt to use them last year when I made mini tartlets, but I chickened out and used philo cups instead. This time, I was determined to christen my tiny pans!

I started looking up recipes to make the dough from scratch, but I kept finding recipes that required a food processor. I only have a mini food processor, and that wasn’t going to cut it. So I had an idea. I didn’t need to make my own crust; I would just use pre-made refrigerated pie crusts. I actually think it was an original idea, because I couldn’t find any directions online that used this method. I know it’s not entirely homemade, but the tart pans went into the oven so I consider that a win.

I think they turned out wonderful! They tasted amazing and looked beautiful. I brought them to a work event and several people asked me if I made the crust from scratch. I might have said yes. 😉

I also thought this filling was fantastic. I definitely liked it more than the filling I used in my mini tartlet recipe, so I’d recommend this filling even in the filo cups. It was a lot sweeter and thicker and just went better with the fruit. I used Paula Dean’s recipe, so that’s probably why it’s fantastic.

Tarts are such a great dessert to bring to a get-together. They look really impressive, but they’re simple to put together. Your fruit toppings can change by the season and/or by your grocers sale ad, so there’s always a fun, fresh combination to be found.

*   *   *

Fruit Tarts

1 package pre-made refrigerated pie crusts, 2 crusts (like these)
1 package cream cheese (8 ounces)
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 mango
1 pint blackberries
1 pint strawberries

Preheat oven to 450˚F. Open one pie crust and roll out flat. Place one of your tart pans upside down on the crust. Using a butter knife, cut a circle around the shell leaving about 1/2 inch. (Please disregard the price tag that I couldn’t get off the pan.)

IMG_5108

Pop out the circle of dough and press gently into the pan. Be sure to press it well into the fluted edges.

IMG_5109

Take a butter knife along the top edge of the pan, cutting off any dough that overlaps the edge and giving the pastry a clean edge.

IMG_5110

Take a fork and poke several holes into the bottom and sides of the dough.

IMG_5111

Place the pans on a cookie sheet and bake for 10 – 12 minutes or until golden brown.

IMG_5112

Gently flip the shells over onto a cooling rack. The pie crusts have enough butter in them that they will easily slide out of the pans. Continue until you have used all your pie crusts. I had to do this in three batches because I only had four tart pans. The two crusts will make about 10 tartlets.

IMG_5121

Next, prepare your filling by beating together the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla until smooth.

IMG_5118

This filling is pretty thick, so I used a 2″ cookie scoop (like this one) and put one scoop of filling in each cup. I had exactly the right amount. Use the back of a spoon to spread the filling evenly into the shell.IMG_5126

Cut the mango into cubes. Wash the blackberries. Wash and slice strawberries. Arrange the fruit nicely onto your tarts. I did all of mine with the same fruit in the same pattern, but feel free to get creative! Add more fruits or cluster your fruits differently on different tarts.

IMG_5129 IMG_5130 IMG_5131 IMG_5132

I’m getting hungry just writing this post! Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Fruit Tarts

  1. Pingback: Fresh Fruit (and what to do with it all!) | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

