Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Hummus

Ah, the Super Bowl. The most anticipated sporting event ever (probably, but unconfirmed). I love football (Go Bears!), but what would the Super Bowl be without snacks? Okay, you’re right, it’d be a really awesome sporting event, but the snacks definitely make it better! And what kind of food blogger would I be without a Super Bowl snack post?! A really awful one, that’s right. So here goes!

I’m not going to lie, though, I kind of struck out this year on the snack front. I tried three new recipes, and I learned that trying new recipes on Super Bowl Sunday is not the best plan. Two of them kind of sucked, but one of those three turned out awesome! So, I’m just going to share that one with you today.

I know this sounds a little weird – chickpeas and chocolate chips together, say what? – but I promise it will rock your world. I whipped this up in just a couple minutes and we gobbled it up the whole second half. This is a delicious dessert dip with a good kick of protein! Enjoy!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Hummus

1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans)
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/4 agave nectar*
1/2 cup chocolate chips

*Yeah, I bought agave nectar for the first time ever. It was actually much cheaper than expected. I bought it at Whole Foods for about $3. If anyone has a good substitute for agave, I’d love to hear about it and how it works in recipes!

Combine the chickpeas, peanut butter and agave. Blend in a food processor or smash with a spoon until smooth. Stir in chocolate chips. It is that simple!

IMG_4923

I served mine with animal crackers, which worked well because they’re nice and sturdy for this thick dip. However, if you used a knife, graham crackers or other cookies would be great as well!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Hummus

  1. Pingback: Cake Pop Sundae Cones | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

