Veggie Dumplins

It’s been cold in Chicago – like, really cold. I was walking home tonight in tights and flats and quickly learned that I was seriously underdressed. When I got home, all I wanted was something warm and delicious. I knew it was a night for my favorite comfort food: vegetable dumplings.

This started out a vegetarian twist on on the classic chicken and dumplings for a luncheon, but it quickly became one of my favorite meals. It’s perfect because I can keep all the ingredients on hand, and then whip it up when a cold night comes along.

Vegetables & Dumplings

1 can cream of anything soup (I usually use broccoli or mushroom)
2 cans vegetable broth (about 32 ounces)
1 bag frozen mixed vegetables (I usually use the one that comes with peas, carrots, green beans and corn)
1 tablespoon parsley (optional)
1 container refrigerator biscuits

Combine the cream soup, broth, frozen vegetables and parsley in a large pot. Bring to boil.

IMG_4324

Reduce heat to low and simmer for 5 minutes.

IMG_4328

Meanwhile, open the refrigerator biscuits and roll out biscuits to about 1/8th inch.

IMG_4329

Then use a pizza cutter to cut the biscuits into strips.

IMG_4331

Return the mixture in the pot to a boil. Drop the biscuit strips into the boiling liquid, 1 strip at a time. It will look like a lot of of biscuits, but they’ll get smaller.

IMG_4332

Reduce heat to medium and simmer for 15 minutes. IMG_4333

Cuddle up on the couch and enjoy!IMG_3233

One thought on “Veggie Dumplins

Leave a Reply

