Peppermint Red Velvet Cake Pops

My mom volunteered to bring dessert for family Christmas, so I automatically volunteered to help her out with it. My mom’s side of the family is Italian, so we don’t just have a single dessert. We do a whole sweets table. Last year, I brought the apple pie with cinnamon roll crust and pie pops.

Peppermint Red Velvet Cake Pops

This year, my mom decided to bring cannoli (as are required for any family get together) and her cheesecake (which is the best cheesecake on the planet). I wanted to bring a few extra things. I really loved the Peppermint Bark Popcorn that I made not too long ago, so that was an easy choice, but I needed a real crowd pleaser. I needed something that people would keep snacking on all afternoon. I needed something with real Christmas-y flare. I needed cake pops. I needed Peppermint Red Velvet Cake Pops.

The recipe is simple — slightly time consuming, but simple. Check out my recipe for Pumpkin Cake Pops or Watermelon Cake Pops, for more specific instructions and photos. This is the just the Christmas variation of my standard cake pop recipe.

Peppermint Red Velvet Cake Pops

1 box red velvet cake mix + other ingredients listed on the package
Peppermint frosting – about 1/2 cup
Candy Cane candy melts (or white candy melts)
Lollipop sticks
Vanilla frosting and/or sprinkles to decorate

Bake the cake according to directions on the box. Cool. Crumble the cake with your fingers then stir in the peppermint frosting until a soft dough forms. Roll into balls the size of pingpong balls and pop in the freezer for 5 minutes.

Melt candy melts according to package directions. Dip a stick into the candy about 1/2 inch, then insert into cake ball so it goes about 1/2 way into the ball. Chill.

Dip each pop in the candy coating, tap the access, and let harden at room temperature.

Color vanilla frosting and use a pastry bag to decorate your pops however you like.

Peppermint Cake Pops

Peppermint Red Velvet Cake Pops

Happy holidays! Cheers to 2013!

Peppermint Cake Pops

2 thoughts on “Peppermint Red Velvet Cake Pops

  1. Pingback: Red Velvet Peppermint Kisses | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Cake Pop Sundae Cones | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

