Maple Glazed Carrots

Nothing makes you miss your Smalltown, USA home more than being able to drive faster than 30 miles an hour. Actually, being able to drive at all was exciting enough! As much as I love my big city life and the hustle and bustle of living in Chicago’s Gold Coast neighborhood, there is nothing quite like going back to my hometown just outside of Springfield, IL.

It’s exactly like you’d imagine – everyone knows everyone, there is one high school and the whole town revolves around the football team and even if you have been gone for over 5 years, you still recognize everyone at church. Going home for the holiday was just the getaway I needed.

My Thanksgiving couldn’t have been been better. As I’m sure yours was, mine was filled with delicious food, great family and old friends. Since I don’t get to cook for my parents very often, I wanted to contribute a few things for our Thanksgiving dinner!

I obviously had to make my loaded mashed potatoes. Those were just too delicious to not share and they were an absolute hit! For my picky grandfather, I also whipped up one potato with just butter and even those were pretty delicious.

And then I thought I’d try some Maple Glazed Carrots. I just love cooked carrots and this recipe seemed simple and classic, so I thought I’d give it ago. These were the perfect, slightly sweet cooked carrots.

Maple Glazed Carrots

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

*   *   *

Maple Glazed Carrots

2 1/4 cups water
2 pounds baby carrots
5 tablespoons butter
1.5 tablespoons sugar
3/4 teaspoons salt
3 tablespoons pure maple syrup
3 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons chopped parsley

Combine water, carrots, 2 tablespoons butter, sugar and salt in a large pot. (I misread the directions, so ignore my huge chunk of butter in there.)

Bring to boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer until carrots are just tender when pierced with knife, about 10 minutes. Drain. (Can be prepared 3 hours ahead. Let stand at room temperature.)

Melt remaining 6 tablespoons butter in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add maple syrup and brown sugar and stir until sugar dissolves.

Add carrots and cook until heated through, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

Transfer carrots to large bowl. Sprinkle with parsley and serve.

One thought on “Maple Glazed Carrots

  1. Pingback: Need Some New Carrot Recipes? « jovinacooksitalian

Leave a Reply

