Pumpkin Ravioli with Sage Butter Sauce

Wonton wrappers are quickly becoming one of my favorite things to cook with. They are versatile and easy but also a little bit fancy. I have been keeping a package of wonton wrappers in the freezer lately to whip up any number of appetizers or meals in a heartbeat. I’ve filled them with cream cheese and green onion and baked them into cream cheese rangoons, I’ve added cabbage, blue cheese and hot sauce for buffalo rolls and today, I turned them into ravioli.

This year, for the first time in my life, I started seeing pumpkin as something more than dessert. While last year I was obsessed with adding pumpkin to my favorite sweets, this year I’ve learned how incredible pumpkin can be with a savory twist. When I saw Pumpkin Ravioli on the menu when I was out to dinner with my fiance’s parents, I had no trouble deciding what I’d be ordering for dinner. I didn’t regret it. It was the best meal that I’ve had in a very, very long time! I knew that I was going to have to try to whip up some pumpkin ravioli at home. So I did!

Tonight was the Magnificent Mile Light Parade, which just so happen to kick off right on my street – how perfect! I thought it’d be a great night for a cozy, home-cooked dinner. So I called up my brother and invited him and his friend to come over for dinner and got to work.

These were so incredibly simple! It took just a minute to prepare the filling and about 20 minutes to seal all of my ravioli. They were easy for me to prepare in advance, so I could go watch the parade and then pop them in the oven right before we were ready to eat. Then, a quick five-minute sauce and I was serving my guests a delicious meal with zero stress. It was fantastic!

*   *   *

Baked Pumpkin Ravioli with Sage Butter Sauce
5 servings

Ravioli:
1 can pumpkin puree (15 ounces)
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
pinch of salt
1 package goat cheese (4 ounces)
wanton wrappers

Sage Butter Sauce:
1 stick butter
1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
1/4 cup coarsely chopped sage

Prepare the filling by adding the pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, salt and goat cheese and stirring until smooth.

Spoon one teaspoon of the filling onto a wonton wrapper.

Brush the edges with a bit of water and press to seal. Cover with plastic wrap until you’re ready to cook.

*NOTE: If you’re preparing the ravioli in advance (and I don’t recommend doing so for more than 1 hour), I recommend placing them directly on the baking sheet so you can pop them straight into the oven without moving them (aka not what I have pictured below).

Place the ravioli on a greased baking sheet. Bake at 350˚F for 5 minutes on each side or until golden brown. Allow to cool while you prepare the sage butter sauce.

Over low heat, melt the butter.

Right when it starts to bubble, add the garlic and simmer for 1 minute.

Add the sage and continue to cook and stir for another 2 minutes. It should be golden in color and have a nutty aroma.

Pour over your ravioli and serve!

*   *   *

I’m sorry I don’t have a better picture of the finished product! My guests had arrived and I was so excited to serve dinner that I totally forgot to take a picture before diving in! You’ll have to trust me that it looked gorgeous! I served mine with garlic bread and wine. I will definitely make these again! I just loved them. They were fairly quick, easy to make and absolutely delicious! Has anyone else made pumpkin ravioli? What are your favorite recipes?

One thought on “Pumpkin Ravioli with Sage Butter Sauce

  1. Pingback: Goat Cheese & Things | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

