Host a Fall Party: CHECK!

Even though Macy’s already looks like a winter wonderland and they’re already hanging up lights on Michigan Avenue, I’m not ready to dive into celebrating Christmas just yet. So in upholding my commitment to my Fall Bucket List, I hosted a party to honor my favorite season! Saturday was the first ever – and soon to be annual – Fall Party!

What is a Fall Party? Well, I wasn’t quite sure either but I knew it was going to be a wonderful thing. So I filled my apartment with sparkly leaves, whipped up some of my favorite fall recipes, turned on some football and invited my friends to come over to celebrate the best of the season.

I wanted to share a couple of my favorite recipes from the evening: pumpkin cake pops (which also doubled as an adorable centerpiece) and spiked spiced cider. I hope you enjoy my fall recipes!

For more pictures from the party and other fun ideas, be sure to check out EmJoyable on Facebook!

*   *   *

Pumpkin Cake Pops


1 box spice cake mix (just the dry mix)
1 can pumpkin (15 ounces)
3/4 cups Water
cream cheese frosting (about 1/3 of the container)
1 bag white candy melts
1 bag orange candy melts
40 lollipop sticks

Mix the cake mix, pumpkin and water. Pour into a greased 13×9″ pan and bake at 350F for 30 – 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. 

Now destroy it. For real! Just crumble the heck out of it.

Add about 1/3 of a container of cream cheese frosting, one big scoop at a time, and mix it all up. You want it to be just sticky enough to roll into a ball.

Then get to rolling. Roll all the dough into balls and place on a cookie sheet covered in waxed paper. Try to make them all close to the same size.

Pop the cake balls in the freezer until firm. Then start microwaving the candy melts according to the instructions on the bag. Take out the cake balls. Dip a stick about an inch into the white candy, and then into the center of the cake pop. This is to “glue” the cake to the sticks. For half of them, I used green sprinkles to make the “stem.” Then pop these guys back in the freezer until the candy melt has hardened.

Dip each pop into the orange candy coating, tapping off the acces. I recommend only taking a few pops out of the freezer at a time so they don’t warm up before you get them all dipped.

Let the pops harder at room temperature. Then you’re ready to serve!

*   *   *

Spiked Spiced Cider

1 gallon apple juice
2 cups brown sugar
4 teaspoons whole allspice
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
2 teaspoons cinnamon
Spiced Rum (I used Bacardi, but anything would work)

Pour the apple juice into a large pot and add the brown sugar. Add all of the spices into a coffee filter. Pull the edges together and tie securely with a piece of clean string.


Add your little spice pouch into the cider. Over medium heat, bring the juice to a low boil and then simmer for 30 minutes.


Serve in mugs with a shot of spiced rum.

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Host a Fall Party: CHECK!

  1. Pingback: Peppermint Red Velvet Cake Pops | EmJoyable

  2. Pingback: American Cake Pops | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

