Loaded Mashed Potatoes

I’ve been totally craving comfort food lately. All I’ve been wanting is mac and cheese, green beens and really good mashed potatoes. It didn’t help that I spent an entire day watching Ina and Paula on the Food Network. When I looked into my refrigerator and realized that I had sour cream, green onions and a brick of cheese, it was like the food Gods were just begging me to make loaded potatoes – they just forgot to remind me to bring the potatoes. No harm! I just walked up the street, picked up a bag of red potatoes and got after it.

They were supposed to be smashed, but I got a little stir crazy and they ended up mashed. Not the worst thing that could happen. These were exactly what I was in the mood for! They were so incredibly delicious and cheesy and buttery and entirely unhealthy and fantastic.

I also really needed them to be zero fuss. So, what I ended up doing was just throwing all the ingredients (except the potatoes) into the sour cream container in advance and popping them in the fridge until I needed them. When the potatoes were done, I just dumped in the toppings, gave it a quick mash and I was in business.

*   *   *

Loaded Mashed Potatoes

11 small red potatoes
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 1/2 cups shredded monterey jack cheese
4 green onions, sliced
1/2 cup sour cream
1 stick margarine (or real butter if you’re feeling real crazy)

Wash the red potatoes and pat dry. Toss with olive oil and bake at 375 for 45 minutes or until soft. Move to a bowl immediately.

Smashed gently.

Add the remaining ingredients.

Stir.

Serve with your favorite guilty pleaser.

Enjoy!

 

 

One thought on “Loaded Mashed Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Maple Glazed Carrots | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

