Cinnamon Chip Scones with Vanilla Glaze

As much as I’d love to spend my work days baking and crafting, I actually am employed doing something entirely unrelated. My coworkers recently learned that I love to bake and instantly wondered why I dodn’t bring them snacks. Ignoring the fact that the reason for that was that they don’t live or work in the same city as me, I answered in a much more excited way and happily volunteered to bring treats for our next team meeting. That team meeting was this week and my boss requested scones. And who am I to deny to my boss’ orders?

I started looking for recipes and found an easy recipe for blueberry scones. That sounded good to me! So, I ran to the store for Bisquick and frozen blueberries, but came home with just Bisquick! Apparently my market doesn’t sell frozen fruit, and the recipe specifically said to avoid fresh berries. I knew I had chocolate chips at home and decided I’d settle for those. But when I scoped out my cabinet for chocolate chips, I found a bag of Hershey’s Cinnamon Chips. Jackpot! I would be making cinnamon chip scones. The recipe called for a lemon glaze, but that wasn’t going to work, so I whipped up a vanilla glaze and went to town.

I wanted the scones to be fresh and delicious to woo my coworkers, but I also didn’t want to wake up at 5 AM to accomplish that. So I did some quick research and learned that it’s perfectly acceptable to make and shape your scones in advance and then pop them in the freezer until you’re ready to bake them. So I got my scones ready the night before, kept them in the freezer, then just popped them in the oven right before I was ready to leave. The glaze takes all of 30 seconds to make so it was easy to finish the scones right before I packed them up for my meeting.

I’m not going to lie, I was slightly nervous to try a recipe for the first time and give it to my peers, but this recipe pulled through! They were absolutely delicious and surprisingly simple! They were great because they weren’t super dry and dense like some scones can be, but instead were perfectly moist and a tab bit fluffy. These are definitely a great addition to any brunch or work meeting. Or keep the uncooked scones in the freezer for whenever you’re craving something sweet! I hope you love these as much as I did!

*   *   *

Scones:
2 1/2 cups Bisquick
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter
2 eggs
1/4 cup milk
1/2 cup cinnamon chips
flour for work surface

Glaze:
1 cup powdered sugar
4 Tablespoons milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 400˚F. Whisk together the baking mix and sugar in a large bowl.

Mix in the butter with your hands until the butter is the size of peas. (I might have done this a little too much. Next time, I will be sure to leave bigger chunks of butter.)

Beat the eggs well with the 1/4 cup milk in a small bowl.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and combine until just blended. (I did this with my hands.) Do not over mix.

Gently fold in the cinnamon chips.

Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and pat into a 3/4-inch thick square.

Cut into 4 squares, then cut each square into 2 triangles.

Arrange the scones on an ungreased baking sheet (or one lined with parchment paper). If you’re freezing them, now’s the top to pop them in the freezer.

Bake until golden brown, about 15 minutes. Remove and let cool on a wire wrack while making the glaze.

 

Whisk together the powdered sugar, milk and vanilla until smooth.

Brush the scones with the glaze.

Enjoy!

 

4 thoughts on “Cinnamon Chip Scones with Vanilla Glaze

Leave a Reply

