Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread

Jalapenos have really dominated my recipe posts lately. At first it surprised me, given that last fall I made pumpkin flavored everything. However, with my close proximity to a weekly farmers market and my recent obsession with football, the jalapeno craze actually makes complete senses.

Remember the Mexican Fiesta Tailgate that I brought the margarita cupcakes to? Well, during the same Friday night bakefest, I whipped up these tasty little guys! It was my first attempt at cornbread, but I think I’ll try more in the future! The jalapeno was actually quite subtle, so if the spice makes you worried, fear not. It still has that sweetness that you love about cornbread but with an extra little kick. I hope you like it!

*   *   *

Jalapeno Cornbread 

3 cups flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal
¼ cup sugar
2 tablespoons baking powder
2 teaspoons salt
2 cups milk
3 eggs, lightly beaten
2 sticks butter, melted, plus extra to grease the pan
8 ounces Cheddar, grated (set 2 cups aside for the batter, and reserve the rest for the top)
1/3 cup chopped scallions, white and green parts, plus extra for garnish
3 tablespoons seeded and minced fresh jalapeño peppers

Combine the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.

In a separate bowl, combine the milk, eggs and butter. (Be sure that the all three of those ingredients are room temperature! My milk was cold and it solidified my butter.)

With a wooden spoon, stir the wet ingredients into the dry until most of the lumps are dissolved. Don’t overmix!

Mix in 2 cups of the grated Cheddar, the scallions and jalapenos, and allow the mixture to sit at room temperature for 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9 by 13 by 2-inch baking pan.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, smooth the top, and sprinkle with the remaining grated Cheddar and extra chopped scallions.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Cool and cut into large squares.

Serve with chili and a cozy sweatshirt — and cheer on the the ILLINI!

One thought on “Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread

Leave a Reply

