Football Food: Jalapeno Poppers

Happy October 1st!!! Today is hands down, my favorite non-holiday day of the whole year! I had to work today (apparently my employer didn’t get the memo about the festivities), but I still managed to celebrate! In fact, I made all my friends at work go to Starbucks for cider! I also allowed for pumpkin spice lattes. I have a volleyball game for my club team tonight, but you better believe we’re wrapping up the day with some football! Go, Bears!!

Speaking of football …

Now let’s be honest, one of the best parts of watching football is the snacks! One of my first football apps this season was jalapeno poppers. I’ve tried puff pastry jalapeno poppers before, which were great, but they just weren’t the classic popper that I was going for this time. Due to my lack of a deep fryer, I went for the baked version. I picked up some fresh jalapenos at the Farmer’s Market and went to work. They turned out fantastic! The local jalapenos were noticeably spicier than the kind I buy at the store, so that made for a nice change of pace.

Happy Fall!

*   *   *

Baked Jalapeno Poppers

6 fresh jalapeno peppers, halved lengthwise, stems, seeds and membranes removed
6 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 1/2 cups grated Monterey Jack
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons milk
1 cup panko crumbs
1/2 cups flour

First, I wanted to share a quick tip! I think that I made it up, and I was really proud of my idea! (But it’s possible someone already had this idea.) Use a grapefruit spoon to scoop out the seeds and such! It makes this part of the process incredibly simple!

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease a baking sheet and set aside.

In a bowl, cream together the cream cheese, Monterey Jack cheese and cumin.

In a small bowl, beat together the eggs and milk. In a second dish, add the breadcrumbs. Add the flour to another dish.

Spread the cheese mixture to fill the middle of each jalapeno half.

One at a time, dredge in the flour, dip into the egg mixture, then dredge in the panko crumbs, pressing to coat.

Place the coated peppers, cut side up, on the prepared baking sheet and bake about 30 minutes, until the filling is runny and the crust is golden.

Remove from the oven and serve immediately with cold beer.

4 thoughts on “Football Food: Jalapeno Poppers

  1. The last time I tried to make jalapeno poppers they turned out way to spicy – like can only take one bite spicy! We always wrap ours with bacon and either bake or grill them. Not exactly the healthiest!

  2. Pingback: Go to Farmer’s Markets often: CHECK! | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

