Planning to Plan a Wedding

I simply can’t believe that I’ve been engaged for almost a month and half now. Time flies. I don’t have much to show for my wedding planning progress. In fact, only this week have I actually seriously looked into churches and reception locations. The fact that I made five wedding-related phone calls today makes today the most productive  day I’ve had thus far.

While the actual planning is coming along slowly, I have made serious progress on something equally important: my wedding planner.

Anyone who has talked to me in the past week or so has probably heard about my wedding planner. I’m ridiculously excited about it! I wanted something pretty to keep all my wedding ideas and plans together in one place. I wanted it to double as a keepsake, something that I could look back on and see everything that went into my perfect day.

I had originally planned on simply buying a wedding planning binder. I went to Barnes & Noble and flipped through every binder they had to offer, but none of them clicked. I didn’t love them. They were packed full of page upon page of information, tips and ideas, which might have been useful, but to me they were just words. I wanted pictures and I wanted the ideas that filled the binder to be my own. Feeling a little defeated, I walked out empty handed.

But then, I walked into Paper Source. *

Paper Source is a craft/paper store chain that sells all the things I love: pretty things, sparkly things and craft supplies. The flagship, two-story location just happens to be within walking distance from my new apartment. (Fate!) The second I walked in, my problem was solved: I was going to make my own wedding planner.

Three shopping trips and wedding craft workshop later, I was finally armed with the supplies to get started. I picked up a binder, some sheet protectors and some dividers from Walgreens, and I was in business!

I started making my binder a few days ago and I’m absolutely in love with it! I didn’t really have a plan, but just kept adding things that were white and girly. A little lace here, a little sparkler there. I dont want to share too many photos, because it’s not done yet, but here’s a little teaser. Finding Paper Source is a big deal for me. You might have noticed by my lack of craft posts recently, and I think I’ve just been short on inspiration and supplies. I haven’t been this excited about a craft project in a really long time! With a craft store within my reach and lots of DIY wedding projects ahead, I have a very good feeling things will be moving full-steam ahead.

Happy crafting!

 

*Please note: Paper Source did NOT pay me to write this. (In fact, I paid them with my repeated and uncontrollable craft binges.)

2 thoughts on “Planning to Plan a Wedding

  1. Pingback: Wedding Update: Planning & Crafts | EmJoyable

  2. Pingback: *Wedding Craft* — Glitter Frames | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

