Last Bite of Summer: Blueberry Peach Muffins

I know I’m already super excited about fall and football, hoodies and pumpkin everything, but I have a few more summer recipes that I just had to squeeze in! I went to the Division Street Farmer’s Market on Saturday (post on that to follow later this week), and I couldn’t resist picking up a few pints of fresh blueberries.

I haven’t done any baking with blueberries this summer, but I figured this would probably be one of my last chances for the year so I had to do it. The vendor I bought them from ran a hard bargain and I ended up walking away with twice as many blueberries as I had intended. That of course means double blueberry recipes, so I totally got the better end of that deal.

My intention was to make blueberry muffins. I settled on this recipe which claims to be “The Best Blueberry Muffins You’ll Ever Have.” I obviously had to pick that recipe. However, when I popped into the grocery store to grab a few things for the muffins, I passed a display of peaches. They just smelled so darn good! So, I bought those, too! I figured peaches and blueberries would go pretty well together and decided to work them into the muffin recipe. It was a great decision if I do say so myself.

Check out this recipe for Blueberry Peach Muffins and let me know what you think! Do you have any fruit combos you love in muffins?

Blueberry Peach Muffins

Crumb Topping:
3/4 cup flour
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
4 tablespoons margarine, melted
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
Pinch of salt

Muffins:
2 1/4 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch of salt
2 eggs
1/2 cup buttermilk**
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
1/2 cup margarine, melted
3/4 cup blueberries
1 peach, skinned and chopped

**As a buttermilk substitue, put 1/2 tablespoon of lemon juice in the bottom of a 1/2 cup measuring cup. Fill the rest of the measuring cup with milk (or soy or almond milk) and let sit for 5 minutes.

Start by making the crumb topping. Using a fork, mix all ingredients together until combined and crumbly. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 400°F. Spray a muffin pan with cooking spray or line with cupcake papers. Set aside.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl. Set aside.

In a large bowl, lightly beat eggs. Stir in buttermilk (or buttermilk substitute). Add both sugars and mix until combined. Stir in vanilla and lemon zest. Stir in melted butter. (I know this doesn’t look very yummy, but just trust me, it will all come together in the end.)

Add flour mixture in two to three portions. Mix until there are still streaks of flour remaining.

Stir in blueberries and peaches, mixing just until combined.

Scoop about 1/4 cup of batter into each cup of prepared pan.

Sprinkle tops of each muffin with crumb mixture.

Bake for 14 to 16 minutes or until a pick inserted into the center comes out with moist crumbs.

Cool in pan on wire rack.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Last Bite of Summer: Blueberry Peach Muffins

  1. Pingback: Blueberry Cheesecake | EmJoyable

  2. Pingback: Go to Farmer’s Markets often: CHECK! | EmJoyable

  3. Pingback: Cheesecake with Fresh Blueberry Sauce – Baine Marie Style | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

