Baked Goat Cheese

This recipe is so easy that I’m not even sure it counts as an actual recipe.

At our usual Friday Restaurant, P.J. Clarke’s, we ordered the Baked Goat Cheese once. We were pretty shocked by how delicious it was. Then we kept ordering it and kept loving it. The other day, it hit me like a ton of bricks that I could make this myself — possibly faster than they can. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but I highly recommend it. It’s simple but delicious.

Baked Goat Cheese

1 package soft goat cheese (4 oz)
1 jar marinara sauce
1 baguette
Butter
Minced garlic
Garlic salt

Preheat oven to 400 F. The first thing you’ll need is a shallow baking dish. You could use a small Corningware dish, but I didn’t have one. I realized that I didn’t have anything the right size, so I made individual servings in my mini springform pans. (If you don’t have those, you’d probably fine with a loaf pan or something. Get creative.)

Press the goat cheese into a patty about 1 inch thick. If you’re making individual servings, cut the cheese in half and press into two patties. Place the patty/patties in the bottom of your dish(es).

Spoon marinara around the cheese, right up to the top of it but not over.

Bake for 12 minutes or until the top of the cheese is slightly browned and the sauce is bubbling. In the meantime, slice the baguette, butter each slice and top with a little minced garlic and a sprinkle of garlic salt. (Or you can make garlic bread however you prefer.)

When the cheese is done, switch the oven to broil and pop the bread in the oven until golden brown and crispy, about 5 minutes. Serve.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

