Indiana Beach

I’m not really the camping type. I require a shower immediately upon waking up, I like to be able to flip a switch and have hot coffee and I don’t really like bugs. Fortunately, I use the term “camping” very liberally when describing my upcoming trip. I’m only camping in so far as I’m sleeping in a tent. I will be a hop, skip and a jump away from running water, a coffee shop and an entire amusement/water park. So I’m actually pretty excited it! This magical place is two hours, 115 miles and a whole world away from Sweet Home Chicago in Monticello, IN: the home of the classy Indiana Beach.

This will be my second trip to Indiana Beach, but my boyfriend and his friends go every year. Before the trip last year, I was nervous. I had heard all the crazy stories, but all I knew for sure was that I had a custom-made jersey, screen printed in neon, with my name on it that I was actually encouraged to wear in public.

Here are a few things I learned last year:

  1. They sell bagels at the coffee shop. Eat them.
  2. Bring Tylenol
  3. Don’t try to shave your legs in the showers
  4. Don’t touch anything in the showers. In fact, unless you’re an OCD shower-taker like me, I’d suggest avoiding the showers entirely.
  5. Make friends with your neighbors. They might give you meat.
  6. Don’t drink your rootbeer too fast
  7. Bring two towels
  8. Shirts are optional
  9. Drink more water
  10. Bring tennis shoes so they let you on the ropes course
  11. Don’t hope for an actual beach if you dont want to be let down
  12. Leave your inhibitions at the secured, gated and guarded entrance because you will probably feel extremely uncomfortable at some point
  13. Don’t feed the carp. (Or do. I was never sure about that one.)

Even knowing all that, I still only feel slightly more prepared for the adventure this year compared to last year. I do know, though, that I couldn’t be more excited!

Leave a Reply

