Picnic Bites

It seems like my summer is just getting increasingly more busy. This weekend, I got to go to my very first Jimmy Buffett concert and it was an absolute blast! It was such a unique concert experience and I can’t wait to go again. Then I got to spend all day Sunday at one of my top-5-favorite-family’s family reunion. When I started dating my boyfriend, I also committed to attend his friends’ family reunion, once a year, every year, and play as many picnic sports/games as physically possibly in a single day. This year, we played volleyball, football, bags, softball, egg toss and water balloon toss. There’s always a lot of food and beer involved and so is inevitably a great time.

The family reunion is always a sure sign that summer is in full swing, and this summer has been amazing. It’s been full of beach volleyball, midnight movie premiers, awesome concerts and great people. At the family reunion though, I realized that not everything great about summer has to come with a $50 admissions ticket. So while I’m still riding the buzz from the family picnic and with the 4th of July right around the corner, I thought today would be a perfect time to share some of my favorite picnic recipes with you.

These recipes are all simple, porch-approved recipes straight from my kitchen. I hope you’re having a fantastic summer too and can share these recipes with your friends and family!

Apple Chips

Crisp apples of your choice
Cinnamon

Slice your apples as thin as you can. Arrange in a single layer on a baking sheet. Sprinkle lightly with cinnamon. Bake at 220F for about 1.5 hours. I think these would be delicious with this Peanut Butter & Brown Sugar Fruit Dip!

Deviled Eggs

6 hard-boiled eggs, peeled and cut lengthwise
¼ cup Mayo
½ teaspoon dry ground mustard
½ teaspoon white vinegar
1/2 teaspoon Beau Monde (or salt)
¼ teaspoon black pepper
Paprika for garnish

Pop out the yolks and mash. Add remaining ingredients and stir until smooth. Pipe into cooked egg whites.

Flirtini Cocktail

1 part X-Rated Fusion Liqueur
1 part vodka
splash Triple Sec
splash cranberry juice

Shake all ingredients with ice. Strain into a pretty glass.

FroYo Dots

Yogurt (any flavor, but I’d recommend a fruity variety)

Put the yogurt in a piping bag or a Ziploc bag with the corner cut off. Pipe small dots onto a cookie sheet covered in wax paper. Freeze. After they’ve frozen (about 30 minutes), uses a metal spatula to remove them from the wax paper quickly. Store in an airtight container in the freezer until ready to serve. Just like Dippin’ Dots, but healthy and cheap!

(This fun recipe was a bonus recipe on my Facebook page! Be sure to “like” EmJoyable on Facebook for more simple, quick recipes!)

Also try watermelon cake pops, mini fruit tartlets, grilled shrimp skewers, summer cocktails and cinnamon cookie ice cream sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

