Crop It

I went through a phase in high school when I kept buying jeans that were too big and not realizing it until it was too late to return them. Just one of the many dumb things I did between the ages of 14 and 18. One of the last remnants from this era is a pair of over-priced, over-rated and overly long Abercrombie jeans in 4 short. I was swimming in them at the time. I specifically remember wearing these pants to school without a belt one day and not being able to play the clarinet in marching band because I had to use one hand to keep my pants from literally falling off. (Did I mention I was really cool in high school?) The glory days.

Anyway, these pants went to college with me, I still thought Abercrombie was really cool, and they quickly became my going out jeans. As a result, these pants got paired with some unfortunate black heels one too many times and ended up looking like this:

I hadn’t worn these pants since I moved out of the dorms. I found them the other day and put them on, and surprisingly, they fit like dream! At 23, it is very exciting to put on a pair of jeans from high school and have them still fit. They still had a notch taken out of the bottom, but I knew just how to fix that: crop ’em. So I did.

I know this is not really a profound craft project, but it’s handy and everyone should know how to do it.

Step 1: Put on your old denim and fold up the pant leg to mark the length you’d like your carpis to be. Gently take them off, careful to not move the fold.

Step 2: Cut off a majority of the extra fabric, leaving just more than you would like to use to make the “cuff.”

Step 3: Fold back the excess fabric to make a cuff that hides any of the cut hem.

Step 4: Use a light thread and stitch a hem about 1/4″ from the top of the cuff.

And you’re done! Now your pants are carpis! I have to stitch these by hand, so it’s going to take me a little bit, but I will add a photo of the final product ASAP!

Leave a Reply

