Holy, Guacamole

With Cinco de Mayo right around the corner, it’s time for Margaritas and Caronas paired with chips and guacamole. Oh yeah, and to celebrate Mexican heritage and freedom (even though the holiday is celebrated more in America than Mexico). Either way, I’m the kind of Cinco de Mayo fan who focuses on the food and drink. One of my favorite Mexican foods is guacamole and this is one of my favorite recipes:

Okay, so that’s obviously not my favorite recipe, but I think that is seriously awesome! I did want to share with you my actual favorite guacamole recipe, plus the margarita recipe I’m excited to try this weekend. My boyfriend sent me this Slate article, You’re Doing it Wrong: Guacamole, that has lots of great tips on how to make guacamole properly. You should definitely check it out. He asked that we try to make the Slate recipe, which I plan to do soon. I’ll let you know how that turns out. In the mean time, here is the tried-and-true recipe that I always default to.

Guacamole

2 avocados
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp lemon juice (or lime if you prefer)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 small onion, chopped
(A lot of people like tomatoes. I don’t, but if you’re feeling it, add about 1/3 cup diced tomatoes or salsa)

Half the avocados and scoop out the insides (discarding the seed). Add remaining ingredients and stir/mush until desired consistency. Serve immediately with chips.

Easy Skinny Margarita 

1 lime, juiced
one packet splenda
1/2 cup of water
1 ounce of Tequila
ice

Combine all ingredients in a shaker. Shake and serve over ice. I’ve never made this before, but I will be giving it a whirl this weekend.

Salud!  (Aka Cheers!)

Leave a Reply

