Chipotle Cilantro-Lime Rice and Chicken Taco Bowl

I’ve never really been on the Chipotle bandwagon. There wasn’t a Chipotle in my hometown growing up, so when I got to college, the hype really baffled me. I couldn’t understand why people were waiting in lines out the door at Chipotle, but I could get practically the same thing right across the street at Qdoba, where there was no line at all. It wasn’t until recently that I went to Chipotle with my friend from work, and I started to change my mind. I tried a chicken burrito bowl with peppers and onions, sour cream, cheese and mild salsa. It was fantastic! So I think I’m finally starting to understand.

My favorite part of it all is the cilantro-lime rice. I could eat just the rice for lunch and be a happy girl. I’d been meaning to make it for a while and finally tried it out tonight. It was super easy! I also sauteed some chicken and made some homemade taco seasoning to go with it. It was delightful, simple and way cheaper.

Cilantro Lime Rice

2 cups water
2 tablespoons butter
1 lime
2 cups instant white rice
2 tablespoons fresh chopped cilantro

Chop cilantro and juice lime.

Bring water and butter to a boil. Add lime juice. Add rice, cover, remove from heat. Let sit for 5 minutes until water is absorbed. Stir in cilantro.

Chicken Tacos

2 chicken breasts
3/4 cup water
1 tablespoon chili powder
2 teaspoons dried, minced onion (or onion powder)
1 teaspoon each: ground cumin, garlic salt, paprika, ground oregano, sugar

Mix all the seasonings together, set aside.

Cut chicken into small chunks and cook in a skillet until no longer pink. Add water and spice mix. Simmer for about 5 minutes or until the water is absorbed, stirring occasionally.

Top rice with chicken, sour cream and cheese. Enjoy!

(I apologize there’s no end product photo! I didn’t realize that the picture didn’t take until I already finished eating!! I’ll try to update when I have the leftovers. Sorry!)

Leave a Reply

