Fruity Cocktails

I have always been a big fan of girly drinks. I remember when I was younger, I was most excited to turn 21 so I could order cute cocktails from fancy restaurants with fruits and umbrellas galore. On my 21st birthday, my parents took me to TGI Fridays where I ordered the cutest cocktail I could find: a blackberry mojito. I think it was that day that I realized that being a grown up was going to be awesome!

I thought it would be fun to share with you a couple of my favorite ways to spruce up a simple cocktail by making them yummy and adorable. The general rule here is that you can make just about anything better by adding fruit into the drink or on the rim.

*   *   *

Mojitos are one of my favorite summer drinks! From scratch, they’re made with muddled mint and limes, rum and club soda. I usually just use half rum and half mojito mix, such as Master of Mixes brand. Even if I’m using the mix, I like to throw in some fresh mint for fun anyway.

I like to add some fresh fruit to my mojitos as well. They don’t add a ton of flavor, but they look pretty and make for a nice snack as you go. Try blackberries or sliced strawberries.

If you have a dark beer or a sweet liqueur, always add ice cream! Try making a pina colada blended with ice cream instead of ice or making a quick float!

Salt around the rim of a margarita is a must, but the fun doesn’t stop there. Try rainbow sprinkles, coconut, graham cracker crumbs or celery salt.

My best friend is also a lot cooler than me and got to spend some time in Europe recently. She brought back some Pimm’s with her and made me a killer breakfast cocktail with it. I’m not sure exactly what was in there, but I know it was basically OJ, lemonade (I think!), Pimm’s and topped off with a good handful of fresh blueberries! Like I said, adding fresh fruit makes everything better!

Last but not least, I love turning Champagne into a quick and delicious bellini by adding a little fruit juice or nectar. At a work party, my boss had a super simple bellini station with Champagne, apricot nectar and fresh raspberries. It’s also great with some fresh squeezed grapefruit juice.

Cheers!

 

 

 

One thought on “Fruity Cocktails

  1. Pingback: Muddled Blackberries | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

