Taxes and Toms

I did my own taxes this year for the first time ever. I filed them three days before they were due, my TurboTax froze every 13 seconds, the “Print & File” portion took over an hour and it ruined two perfectly good TV-watching evenings. When I was asked how likely I was to refer Turbo Tax to a friend, I quickly entered a “0.” When they asked me why, I realized that my primary frustration was the IRS, no so much TurboTax, but I didn’t change my review. My advice for anyone doing taxes is to freaking hire someone — which is exactly what I plan to do every April for the rest of my life.

The only comforting thing about the whole experience was that I made just about $600 on the deal. Stress and frustration plus extra income is a deadly combination, particularly when there’s an open sticky note on my desktop titled “Things I Want.” I realize that it’s never a good idea to spend money before I make it, so I plan to only buy one of these things immediately and then indulge in the rest when the money is actually in my account.

Must-haves:

Black TOMS

Black TOMS - Copyright TOMS

Other than loving the one-for-one campaign, I’m just obsessed with these comfy, go-to slip-ons. I currently have them in navy and sparkly burlap and wear them all the time. I need the black pair to replace my fur-lined black Sperry boat shoes as my summer everyday work shoes. Thank goodness for my business casual dress code! You can buy them from TOMS online, but I recommend ordering from Nordstrom; they’re the same price but Nordstrom offers free shipping.

Sequin Shorts

Sequin Shorts - Copyright Your Stuff Work (and every celeb gossip site ever)

If you follow me on Facebook (which you totally should; find me here), you know that I’m really hooked on the idea of sequin shorts (or sequence shorts if you caught my typo on FB #embarrassing!). I’m sure I’d wear them maybe five times all summer, but I just think they’re absolutely adorable! Plus, I’m still 13 and think Selena Gomez is freaking adorable (and hilarious is the Disney show “Wizards of Waverly Place”) and pulled these off perfectly. They would also be stunning with some sheer black sheer tights in the winter. I can’t quite find the pair I’m in love with, but I’m leaning toward these black ones from Express or these Raspberry ones from Nordstrom.

Navy Dress Pants

Navy Dress Pants - Copyright Victoria's Secret

My poor friend has had to listen to me talk about how I want navy dress pants for the past two months. I want them so bad but just can’t find the perfect pair! I have actually bought a pair of navy pants from Loft on two separate occasions only to convince myself that they’re just not right. This pair, that I first found in the VS catalog, look like they might just be the ones. Unfortunately, VS is tricky because when everything is on tall, busy, tan pretty people, everything is extremely, deceivingly perfect. I might have to give these ones a shot. They’re $50 online at Victoria Secret, which I didn’t think was too bad for dress pants.

Leather Jacket

Leather Jacket - Copyright Zimbio

I’m not positive that I’m edgy/cool/gutsy enough to wear a leather jacket, but I’d really like to give it a try! I just love the tough look! I think it would mesh well with my girly undertones! This is kind of like the sequin short problem: I’m not sure what kind to buy! Consider my quest officially started! I will totally let you know what I end up buying!

*   *   *

How are you spending your tax refund?! Please don’t tell me you’re saving it. I’m not sure I could handle that.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

