Chicken Taquitos

I have a habit of finding ideas for recipes on Pinterest, then Googling the recipe with the word “easy” in front of it and using that recipe instead. I love baking and cooking, but I love a simple recipe as much as anyone. I’m hard-pressed to find a dish that is so incredible that it is worth lots of time and/or ingredients. I’m a firm believer that good food can be easy.

I found a recipe for Taquitos on Pinterest that looked really great. I had never even thought about making taquitos before because I was previously convinced that taquitos only came from the frozen food aisle. In the spirit of my laziness, I then Googled “Easy Chicken Taquitos” and found this recipe on Quick Dish.

I’m not going to lie, there were a lot more ingredients than I was hoping for in a recipe with easy in its title. In this case though, most of the ingredients were spices. I was convinced that I probably didn’t have all of the necessary spices, so I bought a packet of taco seasoning and had every intention of using that instead. I was really surprised by how many of these spices I had in my spice cabinet, though! So if you have them, great! But if you don’t, you can totally use taco seasoning.

Spices aside, I found these little taco roll-ups quite delicious! I altered the recipe slightly based on what I had available. Feel free to do the same! Enjoy!

Baked Creamy Chicken Taquitos

3 ounces cream cheese
1/4 cup salsa
1 tablespoon lime juice (approximately juice of 1/2 lime)
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon dried minced onion (or onion powder)
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt
(OR you can use 2 1/2 teaspoons of taco seasoning instead of the cumin, chili powder, onion and garlic salt)
2 tablespoons dried cilantro
2 tablespoons sliced green onions (approximately 2 green onions)
2 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
1 cup grated pepperjack cheese (or cheddar, taco blend, Mexican blend, etc.)
16 small flour tortillas
salt

PREP:
Preheat over to 425F. Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with cooking spray.

Microwave cream cheese for 30 seconds or until soft. Add salsa, lime juice, cumin, chili powder, minced onion and garlic salt. Mix well. Then add cilantro, green onions, chicken and cheese and mix until combined. (I intentionally didn’t include a photo of this section. It’s not the most appetizing looking stuff. It’s yummy though, I promise!) Put a spoonful of the mixture on the lower third of a tortilla.

Roll as tightly as you can. Place seam-side-down on prepared pan. (I don’t recommend putting them this close together. The edges didn’t get as crispy as I would have liked.) Spray with cooking spray.

Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until edges start to brown. Serve with sour cream, salsa and/or guacamole. Enjoy!

One thought on “Chicken Taquitos

  1. Pingback: A Bite of Summer: Fruit Dip | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

