Easter Eggs Pt. 1: Preparing the Canvas

Remember a long time ago when I said that I knew nothing about fashion in my tights post? Well, I know even less about art. I know nothing about the artistic process, color combinations or anything like that. I would venture to guess, though, that no matter your medium, you first have to obtain and in some way prepare some form of surface. Which is about as far as I needed to get for this week’s lesson.

While I know that Easter eggs are not quite oil paintings, I still think it’s important to start with the basics. With Easter coming in a few weeks, I wanted to share a few tips for perfect Easter eggs. I made some hardboiled eggs last night and got to test out a lot of these tips.

I want to preface by saying that these tips and suggestions are not my own. (I have linked to all original sources via hyperlink.) I simply knocked out the Google search on your behalf and have aggregated the best advice I could find. This post is about preparing the perfect hardboiled egg. Next week we’ll talk about decorating it.

The Basics —
Abridged version inspired by Simply Recipes

1. Place eggs in a single layer in a saucepan. Cover with at least an inch or two of cold water.
2. Bring water to a boil.
3. Reduce heat and simmer for 1 minute.
4. Remove from heat, cover and let stand for 12 minutes.
5. Using a slotted spoon, transfer eggs into a bowl of ice water.
6. Once eggs have cooled, let dry on a towel. Refrigerate.

The Secrets —

For easy peeling …

  • Buy eggs 5 days in advance of boiling. (Simply Recipes)
  • Add 1 teaspoon of salt to water. (Good Life Eats)
  • Try Organic, brown-shelled eggs. (Good Life Eats)
  • When you place the eggs in the ice water, only leave them there for 2 minutes while bringing the pot of water back to a boil. Place the eggs back in the boiling water (6 at a time) for 10 seconds, then back to the ice bath. (Julie Child)

Other tips … 

  • Don’t use an aluminum pan; this can cause the yolks to turn green. (Easter Stuff)
  • You can prick a tiny hole in each egg with a pin to help prevent cracking.  (Easter Stuff)
  • You can also add 1 tablespoon vinegar to prevent the egg whites from getting out in case they do crack. (Simply Recipes)
  • Pricking the egg with a pin also prevents the egg from forming a flat spot on the wide end of the egg while cooking. (Recipe Tips)

Happy egg cooking! Do you have any other special tips for the perfect hardboiled egg?

2 thoughts on “Easter Eggs Pt. 1: Preparing the Canvas

  1. Pingback: Easter Eggs Pt. 2: Go Crazy | EmJoyable

  2. Pingback: Picnic Bites | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

