Mini Cinnamon Chip Cheesecakes

Fridays are always the same: work, P.J. Clarke’s, movie. Every Friday. Even at P.J. Clarke’s, very little changes on a weekly basis. I get a Blue Moon, Kenny gets a Guinness and we’ll occasionally tag in a Hoegaarden. We change up the appetizer, but we always oder the cinnamon cookie sundae. It’s a warm, cinnamon chip Carol’s cookie topped with ice cream and caramel. It’s amazing. In January, I shared a recipe I tried for cinnamon cookies inspired by this very dessert. While those little guys were good in their own way, they were not quite Carol’s. The main reason why was that they lacked cinnamon chips, which I simply could not find anywhere!

Well, good news: I found them!

Well, my mom found them to be completely honest. I’ll definitely be making cinnamon chip cookies to share with you guys next week.

This weekend, though, I am making something different. I was at home in Rochester, IL for one of my best friend’s baby shower and to spend time with my family. It was an absolute blast! My friend is an absolutely beautiful soon-to-be mommy who is due in a month and looks like she just has a soccer ball up her shirt. It was great seeing her! I came home and spent the evening on the back porch. My cousins from Colorado were in town too so we got to cook out and play board games with the family. I had so much fun!

My plan for the weekend was to make mini key lime cheesecakes in my new mini springform pans. When Mom reminded me that she had found the cinnamon chips, I was torn. I was already set on cheesecake, but I was so excited to use the new chips. I glanced at the back of the bag of chips and knew it was meant to be when I saw the recipe for Creamy Cinnamon Chip Cheesecake. So, I fused my cheesecake craving with my excitement for the chips and my new mini pans, and here’s what I came up with!

Mini Cinnamon Chip Cheesecakes

Note: I halved the orginal recipe and changed baking times and temps to make three 4-inch cheesecakes. Follow the directions on the package for a normal cheesecake.

Crust:
3/4 cup cinnamon graham cracker crumbs
1 tablespoon sugar
2 1/2 tablespoons melted butter

Cheesecake:
1 package cream cheese
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 (8 ounces each) packages sour cream
2 eggs
1 cup cinnamon chips plus 1/4 cup more for topping

Mix the graham cracker crumbs, sugar and melted butter.

Press into the bottom and sides of each springform pan. Bake at 300 for 7 minutes.

Beat cream cheese, sugar and vanilla until blended.

Add sour cream and beat until smooth.

Add the eggs and beat until blended.

Fill each pan half full with batter. Top with cinnamon chips.

Top with another inch of batter.

Bake at 300 for about 1 hour.

Pop off the sides of the pans. Melt remaining 1/4 cup of cinnamon chips in the microwave for about 30 seconds. Stir until smooth. Let cool just slightly and then place in a Ziploc bag. Snip the corner of the bag and pipe the melted cinnamon on the cheesecakes. Chill at least 4 hours before serving.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Mini Cinnamon Chip Cheesecakes

  1. Pingback: Blueberry Cheesecake | EmJoyable

  2. Pingback: Cheesecake with Fresh Blueberry Sauce – Baine Marie Style | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

