Shortbread Cookies

There are few things worse than picking out the most delicious looking shortbread recipe and then remembering that you broke your mixer last week. I know because this happened.

Last week, I was making a batch of lemon cookies for my boyfriend who would eat nothing but lemon cookies if given the chance. When I added that last bit of flour, I realized that my mixer was not only smoking, but glowing a strange shade of green. It didn’t take Derek Shepherd to tell me that there was a fire burning inside my sad $6 mixer.

I forgot about this little incident until I started measuring ingredients for my shortbreads and had nothing to mix them with. So I headed to Target to buy a replacement. As much as I wanted to by the KitchenAid stand mixer that I’ve dreamed of owning since I first watched Gale Gand’s Sweet Dreams in 7th grade, my entry-level pay check wasn’t enough to cover that $300 price tag (that one will have to go on my wedding registry). So I settled for this $40 version:

To back track a little bit, there is a reason why I picked shortbread cookies this week. When I was a kid, I would spend my summers watching Food Network. I would make just about anything I could find that could be made with only ingredients I could find in my house (I couldn’t drive and the grocery store was a good 30-minute bike ride away). The point here being that I didn’t discriminate based on taste, just ingredient availability. I was never big on Shortbreads, but I saw them made on TV and we had butter, sugar, flour and vanilla so I gave it a whirl. I thought they were okay, but when my mom got home and tried them, she absolutely loved them. Which was probably a good thing because I most likely didn’t do the dishes so this eased the punishment a bit.

I am going home next weekend for one of my good friend’s baby showers, and will be seeing my mother, so I thought I’d be nice to bring some treats! So I thought, why not shortbreads? I’m a little nervous because this isn’t the recipe I made back in the day, but I’m willing to bet that she will love these too. I found this recipe at Lick the Bowl Good, and I thought it was absolutely amazing! Check it out!

Shortbread Cookies
2 sticks butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon coconut extract (They didn’t have coconut at Target, so I went with Almond, which I thought was just great!)
sprinkles, coarse sugar, or chopped nuts (optional)

Beat the butter, sugar and extracts until the mixture is light and fluffy (2-3 minutes on high).

 

Add the flour, half a cup at a time, beating well between each addition.

 

Roll the dough into a log and wrap tightly in wax paper. Chill until very firm or up to three days.

 

After “logs” are very firm, roll them in sprinkles or nuts.

Slice into ¼ inch slices.

Bake on ungreased baking sheet in a 350 degree oven for 18 to 20 minutes. Cool on baking rack.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

