The Hunger Games: The Book

I can’t decide if the churning feeling in the pit of my stomach lately is due to an uptick of work responsibilities or the fact that I’m halfway through the third book in the hunger games. I’m starting to think it’s probably the latter. I started reading The Hunger Games about a month ago. Since then, I’ve repeatedly stayed up too late on week nights, almost missed bus stops and appeared completely anti-social during my lunch break because of my complete obsession with this series! I don’t know what I would have done if my Kindle wasn’t equipped with 3G because I had to buy the second and third books immediately after finishing the previous book halfway through my bus ride home.

I know I’m not alone in this sentiment. When the New York Times reviewed the first book back in 2008, it only took up the bottom half of the article. They couldn’t have known that the books would catch fire (pun totally intended!). The New York Times has reviewed it since then, but I was totally bummed by the level of spoilers in some of them, so I’m not going to link here (I’m sure you can find it yourself if you’re interested). The book has received numerous awards and praise, including one of Publisher Weekly‘s “Best Books of the Year” in 2008 and the “2008 Cybil Winner” for fantasy and science-fiction books. More importantly, all my really awesome friends loved it to!

As (hopefully!) you all know, Lions Gate Entertainment has adapted the book into a feature length film that premiers on March 23.

I could not be more excited! I have never read a book before it was made into a movie! I have read books after the movie based upon them comes out, but never the other way around.  This is really huge for me. I always hear people say how the movie is never as good as the book, which might be true in this case, but I’m staying optimistic! I’m sure that people say this about most books before the movie comes out, but due to the nature of this book, I highly recommend you read the book first! Plus, it’s written for 13-year-olds, so you could totally knock it out in a day if you really tried.

Let me give you a brief summary …

The book takes place in Panem, which is the nation that formed in the remains of a post-apocalyptic North America. Panem comprises 12 fenced districts, which are home to the poor working class who provide food and other resources to the wealthy and eccentric capitol residents. Before what is known as the Dark Days, there was a 13th district, which was destroyed when the districts unsuccessfully tried to rebel against the Capitol’s tyranny. Since then, the Capitol punishes the districts for the rebellion in a variety of fear-inducing ways, the most horrifying being the Hunger Games. Each year, the Games begin with a Reaping, at which the capital draws the name of one boy and one girl, between the ages of 12 – 18, from each district to be Tributes. They are briefly trained by the Capitol in the art of survival and then thrown into an arena to fight to the death, until only one Tribute remains and is crowned Victor. The story is told through the eyes of the strong, yet lovable, lead character from the deprived District 12, Katniss Everdeen. Katniss is complex in all the right ways; she is tough and wicked smart, but frosted with a soft side of gentleness and wit. When her little sister Prim’s name is drawn during the District 12 Reaping, Katniss volunteers to take her place. Along with the male District 12 Tribute, Peeta Mellark, she is whisked away into the Capitol’s whimsical, yet disturbing world where she prepares to enter the Games. Told through first-person point of view, the reader is whisked away with Katniss and Peeta into a new world where strength, brains and loyalties are tested to the max.

So go read it! Please and thank you.

You can buy The Hunger Games:

Hard Copy on Amazon for $9.46

Digital  Copy for Kindle for $7.49

Digital Copy for Nook for $7.49

 

 

One thought on “The Hunger Games: The Book

  1. Pingback: Good Tip, Bad Tip | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

