Chocolate Madeleines

So two things. First, I really wanted to post all my Super Bowl recipes today and was all excited to do so until I realized that would be of absolutely no use. Being a this-is-how-we-do-things-guide kind of blog, it’s important to share suggestions & recipes before the actual event, in that people can actually utilize my tips! #RookieBlogger. This is unfortunate because I was super excited about a Super Bowl post! So since I was busy watching the game, I posted a few pictures of my Super Bowl snacks instead to make up for it and hereby promise to write a fantastic Super Bowl post next year! Second, I have a very delicious recipe to share with that I promise will be good any day, Super Bowl Sunday or not.

As you might recall from my very first post on Madeleines and Casi Cielo, I love Madeleines more than most. I love them so much that the idea of altering them in any way makes me want to run the other way. I was totally craving these petite French cakes this weekend, and in my quick Google search on tips to perfect Madeleines, I stumbled upon a recipe for chocolate Madeleines. If I didn’t have cocoa already in the cabinet and a beer in my belly, I would have never gone for it, but it was Saturday and I was feeling a little crazy so I went for it.

I’m not going to lie — you’re welcome — I was very impressed! The flavor was absolutely perfect. It had the cocoa burst of a brownie, but without the dense texture and overwhelming sweetness. They weren’t quite as airy as their vanilla counterpart and the edges not quite as crispy, but I think the flavor really made up for it. Anyway, you should make them for yourself and try them! This recipe is courtesy of Martha Stewart.

Chocolate Madeleines

½ cup butter
3 large eggs
½ cup sugar
2 tablespoons packed brown sugar
1 cup flour
¼ cup cocoa powder
1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon vanilla

Spray Madeleine pans with cooking spray and dust with flour. (Martha Stewart will tell you otherwise, but I found her method fairly unnecessary.)

Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium heat until golden brown. Remove from heat and strain through a fine mesh sieve into a small bowl and set aside. I used a coffee filter over a small wire strainer and it worked pretty well. This step is pretty important. The golden butter has a very strong toffee aroma and I think was a great addition. Also, you definitely have to strain it. I was going to skip that step, but after I saw what remained in the coffee filter, I was glad I didn’t!

Whip the eggs with both sugars until light and thickened, about 5 minutes.

Add flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt and stir on low speed until combined. Add vanilla and browned butter and mix until just blended.

Spoon batter into prepared pans.

Bake about 10 – 12 minutes until cakes are firm and a little mound is puffed up in the middle or a toothpick comes out clean.

Let them cool for a minute in the pan, and then transfer to a wire cooling rack.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

