Red Lobster from Scratch

I’ve really been craving shrimp lately. I’m not sure if it was the shrimp cocktail on the P.J. Clarke’s app menu Friday or a video I watched on HRHCollection about shrimp potstickers, but I was really itching to try my hand at a shrimp recipe for dinner on Sunday. There’s probably a Red Lobster in/around Hyde Park that could have satisfied my craving at for about half the price of cooking it myself, but what fun would that have been? Zero fun!

So I found a Red Lobster copycat recipe for shrimp scampi and a Cheddar Bay Biscuit recipe from Pinterest, and I was off to the races. I also made some asparagus on the side, but I wasn’t too crazy about that, that so I’m not going to pass that along to you because I like you! 

My mock Red Lobster dinner was actually pretty easy — the hardest part being trying to open the bottle of wine without an actual corkscrew — but it was just mediocre. I didn’t love it, but it wasn’t really bad either. But it did get me off my shrimp kick, so that was a plus!

Shrimp Scampi

1 cup white wine
1/2 cup butter
3 tablespoons minced garlic
1 pound Shrimp (raw, peeled, deveined)
salt & pepper to taste (to be honest, I forgot to add it. Woops!)

Combine the butter, wine, garlic and shrimp in a pan.

Bake at 350 for 7 minutes until done. (How do you know when they’re done? When the shrimp have curled into a C shape, they are Cooked. Be careful not to let them curl into an O shape, because then they’re Overcooked.)

That’s it! Super easy. 

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

2 cups Bisquick
1 cup shredded cheddar
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
2/3 cup milk
2 tablespoons butter
2 teaspoons dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon garlic salt 

Preheat oven to 400ºF. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray. 

Mix biscuit mix, cheese and garlic. Add milk and stir until well mixed.

Drop biscuit-sized clumps of dough on the baking sheet.

Bake 10 – 13 minutes or until biscuits begin to brown sightly around the edges. 

While the biscuits are in the oven, melt the butter, oregano and garlic salt in a small bowl. As soon as the biscuits are done, brush the biscuits with the butter mixture. Serve warm!

Dinner is served!

Leave a Reply

