Red Tailin’

I’m notoriously bad at setting high standards, and thus, I am often let down. After I saw the trailer, I was ridiculously excited for Red Tails. I think you know where this is going.

Red Tails wasn’t really a bad movie, as long as you don’t go into it expecting it to be the next Top Gun, which it certainly was not. Now I’m no Ebert, and my favorite movies include the aforementioned Top Gun, just about anything Michael Bay (particularly Transformers and Pearl Harbor) and a narrow collection of RomComs (particularly Love Actually and Uptown Girls), so you might want to take my review with a grain of salt.

Coming from a girl who finds the line in Pearl Harbor where Ben Affleck says, “I’m not anxious to die, sir, just anxious to matter,” to be epic, it takes a lot for me to find movie scripts to to be cheesy. Red Tails had a lot of lines that really did that for me. For example …

“I sure hope we get their help again!”

“We fight, we fight, we fight!”

“My God, those pilots are African!”

“We’ll get them on the way back.”

Even I, a girl who favors RomComs and Michael Bay, found the storyline’s predictability unforgivable.

My poor taste in movies is why I’m not suggesting you just take my word for it. Check out reviews on Rotten Tomatoes, the Red Eye and the Chicago Tribune and decide for yourself!

Leave a Reply

