Apple Apple Pie

I mess up pretty regularly. I have a lot of really good ideas that turn out to actually be not very good ideas. But sometimes I learn from my mistakes.

Exhibit A: Pie Pops

I made these Christmas inspired pie pops for Christmas and thought they were a brilliant idea. They really weren’t. The problem with the pie pops was that there was only one cherry in each Christmas tree and two blueberries in each snowman. Turns out, they might actually have been a great idea if I liked pie crust, which I don’t really. 

So, instead of being a Sad Sap and swearing off pie forever, I decided that I’d just try something else. If only there was a pie that didn’t need a crust. Well, at least a pie that doesn’t need very much crust. It worked out really great because a few days later, I found this on Pinterest:

It was like the Pinterest God’s had planted that recipe there just for me. It was really quite sweet of them actually. I had found the pie that had about as little crust as physically possible to still be classified as a pie. So I made it … obviously. It was amazing. Check it out!

Apple Pie in an Apple

Apples
Pillsbury pre-made pie crust 
1 egg white 

For each apple, you will need:
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 tablespoon flour
dash of allspice (optional, but I did it) 
dash of nutmeg (optional, but I did it) 

Start by cutting off the top inch (or so) of each apple. 

Then scoop out the inside of each apple, leaving about a quarter inch of a “bowl” left of the apple. I used a grapefruit spoon for this (which I thought was an awesome idea!). 

Cut the tops into cubes. 

Cut up any other usable part of the apple that you removed from the “bowl,” too. Add all the apple chunks into a bowl and add the dry ingredients. Toss well. Fill up the apple bowls with the apple filling.

Now to the top crust. If you’re in a hurry or just prefer it, you can do like the Pinterest photo and do a simple flower cookie cutter to top your pie. I really like lattice crusts, so I did that. 

Start by unrolling one sheet of pie crust. Use a pizza cutter to cut strips of crust. Form into little lattice squares. 

Place a lattice square on each apple. Cut off the extra crust along the edge of the apple. 

Brush each pie crust with a little bit of egg white. Place the apples on a foil-lined baking sheet. Bake the apples at 375ºF for 15 – 20 minutes or until crusts are golden brown. 

Then they’re ready to serve! I highly recommend eating them warm. I also loved how I got to bust out my new appetizer plates! 

One thought on “Apple Apple Pie

  1. Pingback: Fall Harvest! | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

