Take Me Out to the Movies

To say that Kenny and I have different tastes in movies would be like saying that a notebook is different than an iPad. We watch the same movie, but we see two totally different films. I’m very surface-level, while Kenny is much more thoughtful. It’s not a real surprise, though. Kenny and I see our worlds in totally different ways.

He likes the “game”. He enjoys finding the meaning and purpose in film and cinematography, and I rarely dive below the plot line (largely because I often have a hard enough time figuring that out). He is the person for whom you write movies that win Oscars for. I’m the girl you write movies-that-no-one-remembers-in-three-years-except-me-because-I-was-the-only-person-who-bought-the-DVD for. I (unashamedly) like Michael Bay action movies and really sappy romances with Brittany Murphy. 

If you didn’t know me, you’d probably assume that Kenny and I would never go to movies together. You would be wrong. Kenny really enjoys seeing movies for the sake of art, and I really enjoy seeing movies because I really enjoy doing cute and cliche things. So we go to movies all the time — every Friday to be exact. 

Here’s a look back at some of the movies we’ve seen lately and my thoughts on each of them, so you can start to understand my taste in movies.

Shame
I hated it.
I did note and even kind of appreciate the long camera shots, but that’s about the extent of what I enjoyed about the movie. I felt really uncomfortable and awkward the whole time and found the whole movie very dull.  

Tinker Tailor Solider Spy
I hated it. 
I can’t even really comment on this movie because I have no idea what it was about. I tried to figure it out for a while, then I think I fell asleep for a while and then someone got shot and it was over. I do remember thinking it was very Film Noir. Sorry I’m not much help on that one. 

The Decedents
I hated it.
I thought it was incredibly boring, anti-climatic and sad. I think that the girl from Secret Life of an American Teenager (Shailene Woodley) did a great job in her role, but she was the only character I really got attached to. I feel like the movie was a bunch of really sad stories sewn together with a few surprisingly really funny one-liners.

Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol
I loved it.
I had never seen any of the Mission: Impossible movies before, but I thought this one was fantastic! It was so intense! I loved all the fancy equipment and Jeremy Renner was hilarious! The scene at Burj Dubai was incredible on IMAX! I had a blast. I totally acted like a secret agent when I left the theater.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
I loved it.
I don’t know that I could watch this movie again, some scenes were really hard for me to watch the first time, but I thought it was riveting. It’s important to note that I did not read the book, but I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I haven’t been really sucked into the world of a movie in a long time, and this movie really did that for me. After the climax though, the end seemed to drag on a bit.  

Arthur Christmas
I loved it.
“I can wrap anything with three pieces of sticky tape! Three!” I thought it was freaking adorable and not just because I’m a sucker for Christmas movies. It was this delightful mesh of Miracle on 34th Street and Mission Impossible. I thought it was a fresh take on Christmas, and I really wish that it was a bigger hit. 

New Year’s Eve
I (obviously) loved it. 
It was cheesy and predictable and pretty and perfect! Okay, not perfect, but I still loved it. It had all the makings of a perfect chick flick: a few pretty faces, a love-to-hate-then-back-to-love relationship and some well placed bad jokes. It was refreshing compared to some of the movies we’ve seen lately.

J. Edgar
I hated it.
I got really confused about the timeline on this movie, which comes back to the fact that I often have a hard time even following the basic plot of a movie. I thought this movie was pretty boring, too. No real story arch, just walking through J. Edgar’s life. I did think that Leo did a great job as an old man though. 

The Ides of March
I liked it.
This one was a while ago, so I don’t remember the details, but what I do remember was thinking that the ending was really abrupt and disappointing. I don’t really remember loving or hating it. It was your typical political drama.

Moneyball
I loved it.
I love baseball and I love Brad Pitt, so this one was an easy A. It was a heartwarming story about the little guys coming out on top. I love rooting for the underdog! I also didn’t know a lot about the actual Oakland team, so I felt like I was actually living the season as it happened. I thought it was great.

Leave a Reply

