Sweet & Sour Chicken with Fried Rice

I think that Chinese food on Christmas Eve is a tradition for a lot of people. I’m not one of those people, but I’m pretty sure that they exist. My family usually sticks to Pizza. However, I love Chinese food more than the average American (according to my very un-scientific study), even though we don’t choose to ring in Christmas with it.

Making Chinese food from scratch has always intimidated me. And while ordering Chinese isn’t usually cheap, you do get a lot of food so I’ve never really objected to ordering it from a restaurant. I found this recipe for homemade sweet and sour chicken with fried rice. It sounded pretty easy, so I went for it. Oh my freaking goodness! It was incredible! I couldn’t believe how great it turned out! Check it out.

Sweet & Sour Chicken

Chicken
3 – 4 chicken breasts (I only used one big one, since it was just for 2 of us)
1/2 cup cornstarch
2 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup vegetable oil

Sauce
3/4 cup sugar
4 tablespoons ketchup
1/2 cup vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon garlic salt
1 small can pineapple chunks (optional)

Preheat your oven to 325ºF. Cut the chicken into cubes. Dip chicken into the cornstarch and then into the eggs. Heat 1/4 cup oil in a large skillet and cook the chicken until it’s browned, but not cooked through. Only cook a few pieces of chicken at a time to keep the oil temperature constant. Place the chicken in a 9×13” pan that you’ve sprayed with cooking spray (I also lined it with foil for easy cleaning).

Mix all of the sauce ingredients with a whisk and then pour evenly over the chicken. Mix in the pineapple with the sauce and chicken. I added pineapple on the side (since Kenny didn’t want any). Bake for one hour, turning the chicken every 15 minutes.

Fried Rice

3 cups cooked white rice (2 cups dry rice will yield 3 cups cooked rice)
3 tablespoons sesame oil
1 cup frozen peas and carrots, thawed (I always forget and add a whole bag, which I think is fine)
1 small onion, chopped (I used a red onion)
2 teaspoons minced garlic
2 eggs, slightly beaten
1/4 cup soy sauce

Over medium heat, heat the oil in a large skillet. Add the peas and carrots, onion and garlic. Stir fry until tender.

Lower the heat to medium-low and push the mixture to one side. Pour the eggs into the other side and stir fry until scrambled.

Add the rice and soy sauce and stir well. Stir fry until heated.

Serve with sweet and sour chicken. 

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

