I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas

My boyfriend was spot on the other day when he mentioned that “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas” is severely underplayed. It was particularly fitting this evening at Zoo Lights at the Lincoln Park Zoo.

There was even a hippo there! I don’t know why anyone would want one for Christmas, but to each their own!

Anyway, tonight was the ultimate Christmas date night. Everyone needs to have at least one night (if not several!) devoted solely to Christmas and soaking up everything that the season has to offer. Tonight was that night. It was perfect!

*   *   *

When I got off work (near union station), I walked down Adams to State Street and up to Macy’s, where I met Kenny. We walked over to Millenium Park and went ice skating. It was just darling!

The picture doesn’t quite do it justice, but seeing the glowing skyline reflected back in the bean was beautiful!

After the Zamboni came out, we left to grab dinner at Panera. It was delicious, as always! We hopped on the 151 and headed north to Lincoln Park Zoo for Zoo Lights. It was so cute! We got hot cocoa and cider and saw the lights and the animals. There were lights everywhere!

Even inside was Christmasy! I love ribbons!

And I learned that I am, in fact, a human.

After the Zoo, we walked down Chicago’s Magnificent Mile and the millions of lights that frosted it.

Then we took the bus back home (chatting w/ a very strange, very drunk man). We made coffee, ate gingerbread cookies and watched Elf

Best. Night. EVER! 

Tomorrow is Woodfield Christmas shopping, Starbucks’ Grandma’s Turkey Sandwich, ice skating at Wrigley field and our friend’s Christmas party! I LOVE the holidays! I hope you can take advantage of all the holiday festivities that your town has to offer!

Leave a Reply

