You Win Some, You Lose Some

I have never been a winning-is-everything kind of girl. I’ve always been one to applaud the effort and support the small successes along the way. I believe in participation trophies, because I believe you deserve some recognition for trying your hardest. Some people, my best friend included (I love you Brit!), don’t quite agree with me. Not quite agreeing would be an understatement, actually. In fact, my best friend actually plans on taking her children’s participation trophies away if they ever were to get any. This is exactly why she gave me this for my college graduation:

College Participation Trophy
You win some, you loose some!
(But no one keeps score)
I Love You!

The spelling error just makes it that much better! Oh, just one of the many reasons that this girl is my numero uno.

 

Well, friends, today I lost. I failed. I tried, and I did not succeed. 

I found this “recipe” (I guess you could call it) to make your own glitter. I love glitter! So the thought of being able to make it at my beck and call was just mind blowing. I am also the girl who accidentally ordered a $20 magazine subscription when I thought I was entering a contest to win a free set of glitter.

So I measured my salt into a baggie and a I picked pink to be the color (obviously) and I shook it all up. I spread it out nicely and evenly on aluminum foil, just as the directions said. I baked the pink salt in a 350ºF oven for 10 minutes. I was SO excited when that timer went off! 

This is what it was supposed to look like …

And this is what mine looked like.

It still just looked like pink salt. I tried tried to bake it longer, I tried to spread it out into a thinner layer, I tried to turn up the heat, I tried really hard to turn this salt into glitter. But all my wishin and a hoppin was not going to cut it. 

So I chalked it up as a loss. Sometimes things don’t work. And Kenny — always with the silver lining — reminded me that it wasn’t a total loss. It was, in fact, still edible salt (since I used food coloring). So like I always say, you win some, you lose some!

My other piece of advice is if at first you don’t succeed, try again. If you still don’t succeed, go buy glitter!

Leave a Reply

