Straighten the Fork Up, Young Lady!

Depending on who you ask, I’m either the most or least organized person on the planet. If you ask my coworker who has to wait for me to organize my desk, straighten my papers and make a color-coded check list before I leave work each day, I’m the most organized. If you ask my mother who spent 21 years with me telling me to clean my room, get my stuff out of the kitchen and get my shoes away from the door, I’m the least organized.

I’ve always maintained that as long as everything has a proper place and as long things are clean to begin with, I’m usually pretty good about keeping things organized. It’s when I don’t know where to put things that it starts to get tricky. Plus, once one thing is out of place, it’s all down hill — if it’s kind of messy, it’s certainly going to get really messy, really fast.

When I was moving into my apartment and making weekly trips to Ikea, I discovered a really cool, really cheap way to keep myself organized. Having acquired a brand new vanity, an actual dresser and a bigger apartment, I suddenly had so many drawers I had to organize! I had one drawer separator/divider thing that I got for graduation that worked great, and I wanted more of them.

I searched Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, Wal-Mart and more when I finally came to the conclusion that I couldn’t line all the drawers in my apartment with organizers for under 80 bucks. It wasn’t until I went to Ikea to buy a standard household item and then came home and realized I didn’t even need it when it all finally clicked. The trick? Silverware dividers. 

It was brilliant! I don’t know why I didn’t think of it before! These little guys were going for $1 a piece at Ikea! What a steal! Anyway, I bought several and found out they were good for just about anything.

Junk drawer? Yep! Who says a junk drawer needs to be a junky drawer?

Jewelry? Yep! Bye, bye jewelry box! (Well, not actually “bye” because I can’t afford one to begin with, but this is a close second.)

Cake decorating supplies? Obviously! I had way too many baking knick-knacks to just float around in my cabinet, and this was perfect!

I just wanted to share this idea with you! Suddenly, everything in my apartment has a place! How lovely! 

Happy organizing!

Leave a Reply

