Giving Thanks

I grew up with three brothers, eight cousins, three grandparents, three aunts and three uncles — just to name a few. Not a huge family but not a small one either. We were scattered around the midwest, but come the night before Thanksgiving, we were all drawn to Poplar Bluff, Missouri like magnets to my grama’s fridge. The whole family would come together for bumper pool, pinball, staircase slides, street football, organ playing and of course a gigantic Thanksgiving dinner. The festivities all seemed so elaborate. Maybe they were or maybe my memory has been warped by the sands of time, but I guess all that really matters is my fond memories of growing up with a family who loved each other. That’s something that I probably took advantage of at the time, but the older I get, the more I’ve noticed how thankful I am for that. Granted, I want to punch some of them in the face sometimes, but at the end of the day, they were the ones who had my back.

Thanksgiving has changed a lot. My grandparents moved out of Poplar Bluff, my family moved to literally opposite ends of the country and my huge feast was tailored down to only include my parents, one brother and Gramps. But no matter how much the scenery changes, the point remains the same. Thanksgiving is for remembering how blessed we are and being thankful for the people and things we have that we might not recognize enough throughout the year.

Today, I’m thankful for a lot of things. So today’s Inspired post highlights some of the most inspirational people I know.

*   *   *

I am thankful for my parents, who raised four pretty awesome kids.


I am thankful for my kind-of-annoying-but-also-pretty-great big brothers (and Kayiu!). (And Mike of course, who’s pictured later)


I am thankful for the best boyfriend a girl could ask for.


I am thankful for my incredibly determined, strong-willed and beautiful best friend.


I am thankful for my other best friend.


I am thankful for old friends.

I am thankful for new friends.


I’m thankful for my super-cool grampa.

I am thankful for the strongest little girl and sweetest little boy in my life (and their equally wonderful parents).

I am thankful for my cousins who grew up right along side me and are off doing great things!


And everyone else who has stepped into my life in any way!

* * *

I hope that everyone has had a lovely day with the people they love most!

Leave a Reply

