Mini Fruit Tartlets with Chocolate Drizzle

I’m a sucker for Bed, Bath & Beyond. Every time I set foot inside that place, I find something in their baking section that I just have to have. Some buys I do end up falling in love with and using pretty regularly, like my madeleine pan or my cookie cutter set. Other things, despite my best intentions, end up untouched in my cabinet years after I bought them. That is exactly what happened with my mini tart pans.

So Sunday, while I was organizing my baking cabinet, I yet again looked for a recipe to use these cute little pans … and yet again, failed. In my quest for a mini tart recipe, I stumbled upon this super simple recipe for Easy Fruit Tarts from Land O’Lakes. As much as I wanted to put my tartlet pans to good use, I couldn’t bring myself to buy extra ingredients and work extra hard just to use them. So back on my shelf they went, but I wouldn’t have had it any other way. These bad boys were amazing!! I ate almost all them.

NOTE: I recently made fruit tarts again and I prefer the filling in that recipe. It would be great substituted in this recipe as well.

Easy Fruit Tarts
Courtesy of Land O’Lakes

 3 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup sour cream
1 tablespoon orange juice
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2 teaspoons powdered sugar (this was my addition to the recipe)
1 package (15 count) frozen mini filo dough shells, thawed
assorted fresh fruit
1/4 cup seedless strawberry jam
1/4 cup chocolate frosting or chocolate chips (this was also my own addition)

Combine the cream cheese, sour cream, orange juice and vanilla until smooth.

I thought it was a little too sour-creamy, so I added 2 teaspoons of powdered sugar to sweeten it up a bit.

Spoon filling into filo shells, filling about 2/3 full.

*NOTE* This recipe will fill 15 cups (probably even more than that), but once they’re filled, they don’t keep very long. The original recipe suggested not filling them more than three hours in advance. Keeping that in mind, I only filled nine. I put the extra filling and fruit in the fridge to make later.

The next thing to do is add the fruit. I suggest using whatever fruit is either in season or cheap, depending on which is more important to you. I was shocked to find blackberries and raspberries so cheap, so I grabbed some of those. I also grabbed a kiwi and a clementine for about 50 cents each. Other good toppings would be blueberries, strawberries, apples and maybe even almonds. Go crazy! Whatever fruit you choose, just be sure to take out any seeds, remove any skin and cut into small pieces.

Top each tartlet with a collection of fruit pieces.

Place the strawberry jam in a bowl and microwave for 30 seconds until melted. Drizzle each tartlet with a little jam. Be careful not to overdo it though, or the jam will run down the shell and you will end up with a sticky mess. You want just enough to tint the filling pink and make the fruit a little shiny.

Microwave some chocolate frosting for about 15 seconds or until melted. With a spoon, drizzle the frosting over the tartlets. You could also use chocolate chips for this, you just have to be really careful to not burn the chocolate while you’re melting it. Chips can also be a little harder to drizzle. But either one works!

Transfer to a new plate — since the other one got all chocolatey!

Serve with cocktails at your holiday party!  [Or power through them on the coach while watching Bears football in your sweatpants. Totally your call.]

2 thoughts on “Mini Fruit Tartlets with Chocolate Drizzle

  1. Pingback: Picnic Bites | EmJoyable

  2. Pingback: Fruit Tarts | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

