Saturday Night Lights

I might be in the minority among people who don’t have a financially vested interest in it, but I fully support the early onset of Christmas histeria on the streets, in the malls and on the radio, probably as early as mid-October. I see a lot of Facebook posts and Tweets complaining about Christmas taking over before Black Friday, but I don’t sympathize with that point of view. I’m a Christmas enthusiast who doesn’t like to set a limit on when we can start celebrating the greatest holiday ever.

Which is why Saturday is going to be to incredible. I’m talking, like, really incredible! Saturday is the Magnificent Mile Lights Festival. Now, I’ve never been to the event, but how could one million lights, Mickey Mouse and a Christmas theme possibly be anything less than fantastic!?

This is one of the many perks of living in the lovely city of Chicago. Well, I’m sure that New York, LA and probably many other cities in the country (and world I assume) also have equally great Christmas kick-off events, but Rochester, IL does not, so this is big news for this girl! Living in the City has a lot of perks and one million Christmas lights and a parade to mark the turning on of said lights is definitely one of them. 

Let me elaborate for everyone in Chicagoland who might be considering a trip downtown to celebrate. The Magnificent Mile is a one-mile stretch of north Michigan Avenue, lined with darling boutiques and shops that for the most part (ignoring Forever 21 and a few shops in Water Tower Place) no one can afford. And every year at Christmas, they frost the street in Christmas lights and transform it into a winter wonderland, and then they turn it all on the Saturday before Thanksgiving. To add to the event, there is all-day activities and a huge parade to kick off the event. The parade is led by none other than Mickey Mouse himself. 

So tomorrow, after I watch the Illini get their butts kicked by University of Wisconsin and I make it back to Chi-town from Champaign, you will find me cozied up with a Starbucks Gingerbread Latte, my hand-crocheted scarf and my boyfriend in hand. I hope everyone in the city and the burbs can make it out to event! And if you do, be sure to give me a call! 

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

