Holiday Sneak Peak

I recently discovered a disgustingly addicting website (that apparently everyone on the planet knew about except me until three days ago) called Pinterest. I’m a crafty girl, but I’ve surprisingly never been big on crafty blogs. Most of the crafts I’ve stumbled upon either don’t have enough pictures (and we all know that I love pictures with my blog posts), the supplies are too expensive or there are just a few too many steps for me to follow without losing interest. 

Pinterest doesn’t have any of those problems. First off, Pinterest is almost exclusively pictures. Not just that, but it’s chock-full of photos of all different shapes and sizes with a bottomless scroll — hence the addictiveness. Some of the supplies might be expensive, but there are so many ideas to choose from that there are usually five more cheaper ideas to follow the first. And lastly, the steps usually fit in the photo’s caption which means they’re usually not that hard to follow. My hours spent on Pinterest in recent evenings have reminded me about a very important changing of the seasons.

Now that Halloween is over, Christmas trees are filling the department stores, lights are twinkling on all the trees once dusk hits downtown and the glorious Red Cups are back at Starbucks. 

Christmas is officially on its way. I know that it’s only November, but that doesn’t stop the aura of the holiday from taking to the streets and the stores covered in glitter.

While my boyfriend considers listening to Christmas music before Thanksgiving sacrilege, I’ve been including it on my Pandora shuffle since October 1. There are very few things I love more than Christmas — in fact, I’m pretty sure that list is limited to my birthday, my boyfriend and my family — and if you ask me, nothing shows love more than a little arts and crafts time. 

So while I’ve been exploring Pinterest, I’ve been strategically selecting a series of crafts that will take this blog by storm in the coming months. And since Thursdays only come along once a week, there are only seven craft posts left until Christmas, and that means I’ve gotta get on it! So starting next week, my holiday posts will begin! I hope you’re even remotely as excited as I am! 

So this is me, going Pinterest on you. Check out some of the craft ideas and delicious sounding recipes that I will be featuring right here in the coming weeks. I will not only be making the crafts and snacks below, but I’ll be teaching you how do it too, along with the lessons I learned along the way. And as always, more stories than you can handle. 

Who’s ready?!

                                                           *     *     *

I have one allotted space for a Thanksgiving craft, and I’ll give you one hint: it’s a sweet, vegetarian version of this little guy! Even cuter, actually!

I’ve got the inside scoop on some of the simplest, sparkly decorations in the book. I’ll show you how to make them, where to put them and how to make it look even better without trying any harder.

Make your own mittens in under 10 minutes?! YES, PLEASE! 

As if these delightful Kissed peanut butter cookies weren’t good enough, you will flip over the holiday version. 

                                                             *      *      *

Alright, team. I hope that was enough to get your crafty holiday juices flowing. There’s plenty more where that came from, too! I tried to leave enough up to the imagination, because what fun would it be if I spilled the jingle bells all at once?! Cheers to the holidays! I can’t wait to share them with you!

Leave a Reply

